Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

saltyzoo

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 4, 2007
I'm pretty new to mac, and I only know them as intel machines, so I'm a little clueless here.

I'm considering purchasing a Mac Pro to use as a server and I don't need a huge amount of horsepower. From a technical point of view a G5 will do me just fine.

But what I'm not sure of is what I might be missing in running a PowerPC rather than intel. Is there certain software that won't run on the old hardware, or any other incompatibilities I need to be aware of?

Thanks in advance.

saltyzoo

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 4, 2007
I wouldn't consider you to be that new. ;)

Unless you need the expansion and RAM of a tower a Mac mini Core 2 would be fine.

http://www.primatelabs.ca/blog/2007/08/mac-performance-august-2007/

To make a long story short, I've sat through several Apple seminars and 64-bit on Intel seems to be the answer.

Disk speed, expandability, and RAM is why the pro is a better choice for me than the mini. dual G5 2 Gig will be more than enough cpu for me.

My question is more compatibility. One would assume that if it runs Leopard, there wouldn't be any compatibility problems, but assuming is a bad thing.

PS> I've got a couple dual core mini's already. ;)

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
Indianapolis
Disk speed, expandability, and RAM is why the pro is a better choice for me than the mini. dual G5 2 Gig will be more than enough cpu for me.

My question is more compatibility. One would assume that if it runs Leopard, there wouldn't be any compatibility problems, but assuming is a bad thing.

PS> I've got a couple dual core mini's already. ;)
Raptors run well in iMac G5 (Rev. A/B) ;)

64-bit Intel is going to give you the best support from Leopard according to Apple. I've noticed that G5's are much more perky as well moving to Leopard.

Eric5h5

macrumors 68020
Dec 9, 2004