Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GregE

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 28, 2007
I'm new to Mac and I want to import my videos and edit them. I have the Canopus ADVC110 and imported 2 tapes to iMovie 06 tonight. I played a little with it to try and see what I could do. I was having trouble trimming my clips to get them to start and end right where I want them. Also, since my video I am currently working with is analog, iMovie 06 doesn't detect the scenes so I have to basically do that myself. I did change the setting to start a new clip every 10 minutes in hope that would assist me.

I'm wondering if Final Cut Express would be a better choice for me. I worked with some video editing on my PC previously and liked the software. It did scene detection on my analog tapes and I could remove the sound from the camera and then put in music in place of it. Would I be able to do this with FCE? I didn't see how to do it in iMovie 06.

Thanks for any help.

dave@toastmedia

macrumors member
Aug 23, 2007
trimming appears to be convoluted in imovie.

The User Interface is overly complicated. Each of these items should be achievable in 1 action.

Clip Trimming - Now takes 3 actions - Drag Selection/Trim/Confirm
Clip Addition - Now takes 2 actions - Drag Selection/Add
Audio Levels - Now takes 3 actions - Select/Amount/Confirm

I would recommend moving to FCE or invest in FCS2.0 if you can.
You wont regret it mate.

GregE

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 28, 2007
Final Cut Studio is a little out of my price range so I may try Express. Thanks for your comments.

ErikAndre

macrumors 6502a
Nov 14, 2007
Florida