PDA

View Full Version : Bittorrent/router help


mmmdreg
Oct 6, 2003, 07:06 AM
If I'm using Bittorrent, what do I do to my router to let me upload to the clients as well as download?

edesignuk
Oct 6, 2003, 07:09 AM
I am behind a Linksys router and I haven't had to set up anything to allow BT to upload.

NicoMan
Oct 6, 2003, 07:25 AM
Originally posted by mmmdreg
If I'm using Bittorrent, what do I do to my router to let me upload to the clients as well as download?
Hmm what sort of network setup have you got? Do you mean that you are behind a NAT? Or a firewall? A detailed description of your setup would help me (us) help you.

mmmdreg
Oct 6, 2003, 08:58 AM
The iMac is plugged right into a NetComm (http://www.netcomm.com.au) ADSL/Cable router. That's about all there is to it.

peterjhill
Oct 6, 2003, 09:22 AM
If your IP address begins in

10
172
192.168

then you are most likely configured to use NAT. In that case you need to map ports

6881-6889 to the private IP address of your MAC

I recommend reading the FAQ:
http://bitconjurer.org/BitTorrent/FAQ.html

sparkleytone
Oct 6, 2003, 02:17 PM
the best way to set it up for bittorrent is to make your machine the DMZ host.