PDA

View Full Version : Will an Apple Cinema 20" (Older Acrylic) work with a 450MHz Cube?




macaddict23
Dec 29, 2007, 04:11 PM
Hi Guys,

The video card on my current 450MHz Cube is a ATI Rage 128 Pro with 16MB VRAM. It's currently hooked up to an Apple 17" LCD, but I would like to upgrade to the 20". Will my video run it? Thanks in advance!



daneoni
Dec 29, 2007, 07:02 PM
Hi Guys,

The video card on my current 450MHz Cube is a ATI Rage 128 Pro with 16MB VRAM. It's currently hooked up to an Apple 17" LCD, but I would like to upgrade to the 20". Will my video run it? Thanks in advance!

I dont see why not. Both components support ADC connections

iMpathetic
Dec 29, 2007, 07:19 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/3B48b Safari/419.3)

yeah, it should work. A lot of video cards from that era will even drive 2048x1536, so you should be fine.

IJ Reilly
Dec 29, 2007, 07:44 PM
Yup, that's what it was designed to do. Don't expect wonderful video performance, though.

dwl017
Jan 1, 2008, 03:12 PM
Hi Guys,

The video card on my current 450MHz Cube is a ATI Rage 128 Pro with 16MB VRAM. It's currently hooked up to an Apple 17" LCD, but I would like to upgrade to the 20". Will my video run it? Thanks in advance!

Alert! OP all the replies to your post are wrong! 100% wrong!

I had the same Cube and also tried to hook up a ADC 20" Apple display. It will not work unless you have the following:

The Power Mac G4 Cube computer must have a Nvidia Geforce 2MX graphics card to be compatible with the Apple Cinema Display HD or Apple Cinema Display (20-inch).
The Power Mac G4 - (Gigabit Ethernet) video card does not support the Apple Cinema Display HD or Apple Cinema Display (20-inch) unless the original video card is updated to one that meets the specification for the display.

The information above is taken directly from the Apple web site. Click on the link below to verify.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=58692

IJ Reilly
Jan 1, 2008, 03:41 PM
Surprising. The Rage Pro 128 supports resolutions to 1920 x 1200. In fact the issue is more confused by the fact that the ADC display sizes available at the time the Cube came out were 15", 17" and 22", all or which worked with the stock Cube. The 20" was a later model which did not work with the Rage Pro, for obscure reasons.

N10248
Jan 1, 2008, 04:06 PM
I use one of these displays on an old graphite powermac G4which had a Rage 128 card.

I can confirm you get the grey boot screen with the apple logo then as soon as the following blue screen appears the display goes off.

I upgraded the graphics card to a Nvidia TI4600 which supports the display fine
but there are only few cards available that will fit in the Cube like this one...

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/New-nVidia-Geforce-6200-256mb-Mac-G4-G4-Cube-G5_W0QQitemZ250200908130QQihZ015QQcategoryZ25449QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

but if you want the ADC port you'll have to find an original apple one, at least a Geforce 2mx.

Bye

mojohanna
Jan 1, 2008, 04:18 PM
What is the name of the old acrylic displays? Are they the "Studio" displays?

N10248
Jan 1, 2008, 04:46 PM
What is the name of the old acrylic displays? Are they the "Studio" displays?

The 15" and 17" are studio displays, the 20", 22" and 23" ones were cinema displays.

there were also CRT models called studio displays which also used the ADC port

pscoble
Jan 1, 2008, 04:57 PM
I believe all plastic displays were studios. When the cube was released it was shown connected to a 22 inch screen of that era. In short if its plastic it will work.

N10248
Jan 1, 2008, 05:19 PM
The 22" was 1600x1024, which is just a little lower than the 1680x1050 of the smaller 20" cinema display, which Rage 128s will not work with.

15" and 17" will work, the 22" might work but i doubt it and the 20" and 23" will definitely not work without a graphics upgrade.

I made the mistake of buying a 20" and had to upgrade the card to make it work.

Bye

IJ Reilly
Jan 2, 2008, 11:00 AM
15" and 17" will work, the 22" might work but i doubt it and the 20" and 23" will definitely not work without a graphics upgrade.

The 22" is supported but the 23" is not.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=75286

FWIW, I've been very happy with the Radeon 7500 (ADC) upgrade in my Cube. These cards can be installed with no modification, except for the removal of the gate bracket, which you really don't need.

Xeem
Jan 2, 2008, 12:12 PM
I also had a 450 Cube and an acrylic 20" ACD, but luckily my Quicksilver Powermac G4 had a fanless Geforce2 MX, so I just switched video cards. The GeForce2 just provided enough power to watch 480p DIVX movies in full screen via VLC, so it made for a pretty decent little movie machine.

I don't really use my Cube anymore, but I have to say that the Cube/20" ACD setup is the best-looking computer setup that I have ever had. Those acrylic displays are gorgeous.