PDA

View Full Version : Power Mac G4- It just works




Jasonbot
Jan 6, 2008, 08:09 AM
I have this Power Mac G4 Sawtooth (AGP Graphics) and I didn't use it much after upgrading to Tiger because it was so slow. But...


After disabling Spolight and Dashboard completely I seem to have made the thing MUCH faster. (Safari seems snappier :P)

I'm in the process of procuring 3x 256mb RAM sticks to upgrade the thing from 384mb to 1Gb of RAM then this will be really scary fast!

Is there anything else I can do software-wise to make this thing faster?

Oh and here's the current specs:
400Mhz G4/384Mb RAM(256+128)/20Gb/16Mb AGP

And here's what it will be soon:
400 Mhz/1Gb/60Gb/16Mb



MIDI_EVIL
Jan 6, 2008, 08:29 AM
I have this Power Mac G4 Sawtooth (AGP Graphics) and I didn't use it much after upgrading to Tiger because it was so slow. But...


After disabling Spolight and Dashboard completely I seem to have made the thing MUCH faster. (Safari seems snappier :P)

I'm in the process of procuring 3x 256mb RAM sticks to upgrade the thing from 384mb to 1Gb of RAM then this will be really scary fast!

Is there anything else I can do software-wise to make this thing faster?

Oh and here's the current specs:
400Mhz G4/384Mb RAM(256+128)/20Gb/16Mb AGP

And here's what it will be soon:
400 Mhz/1Gb/60Gb/16Mb

I think this thread would be enhanced greatly, by links or a 'how to' on disabling Spotlight and Dashboard.

But yes, I've disabled Dashboard on my PowerBook G4. I despise it.

Jasonbot
Jan 6, 2008, 08:53 AM
I think this thread would be enhanced greatly, by links or a 'how to' on disabling Spotlight and Dashboard.

But yes, I've disabled Dashboard on my PowerBook G4. I despise it.

ok ok...

The links:
Disable Spotlight:
http://osxdaily.com/2007/03/22/how-to-completely-disable-spotlight/
(this one is a little tricky, you need to type 'sudo' before typing 'mdutil' which isn't stated)

Disable Dashboard:
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20050723123302403&lsrc=osxh

Graphis
Jan 6, 2008, 09:21 AM
I have a G4 running Tiger, with nothing disabled. I put in 1.5GB of RAM, and also upgraded to a Sonnet Dual 1.8Ghz processor.
It isn't slow at all, for general usage. Only in things like 3D rendering does it become noticeably slower, but otherwise I've been very happy with it.

SteveG4Cube
Jan 6, 2008, 09:46 AM
Overclock it.

http://power-mac-g4.com/g4clockup.html

Jasonbot
Jan 6, 2008, 10:05 AM
Overclock it.

http://power-mac-g4.com/g4clockup.html

Micro soldering seems scary.:eek: