Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kjhbanana7

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 6, 2008
I'm new to Mac (I just got my Macbook a few weeks ago) and to the software. I've been taking videos and pictures with my new camera also. I use the software GIMP to compress my pictures files but I'm not sure how to compress video files.

Can I use iMovie to compress the video files or do I have to download another program for that?

If I do need to download another program, are there any out there for Mac that are easy to use and free?

Suspended
Dec 29, 2007
Congrats on moving to a Mac. Hope you enjoy it. I moved over the summer, and it's been great.

For real newbie type questions, you might also want to check out the Apple user support forums at discussion.apple.com

While you are a newbie to Mac, are you a newbie to video and or digital photography?

If you are truly a newbie, then I recommend first exploring iPhoto and iMovie, and see if that works for you. Can can see tutorials for both on http://www.apple.com/ilife/tutorials/ The iLife suite is generally very useable and helpful to novices. In general, though, you might need to make a mental shift from the PC. In PC-land, you may be used to managing your own files yourself, and then pointing applications at those files. In Mac-land (at least, iLife land), you load your content into iPhoto, iMovie and iTunes, and let those applications manage the data for you. You literally put your content into the application database, and you stop messing around with your own file structures.

If you need more help than this, it would be useful if you explained a bit more what you are trying to do. When you say you "use GIMP to compress your photos" -- what exactly do you mean? Are you shooting in RAW and compressing to jpg? If you are shooting in jpg, then I'm not sure what you are doing to "compress" the photos.