PDA

View Full Version : Newbie = Is a PowerMac G5 Noisy?

mpaar
Jan 7, 2008, 01:30 PM
I am a Newbie about to switch and I am considering getting a PowerMac G5. Just how noisy are they? Similar to a windows desktop? What is a fair price for one = $1,000? Is this a good way to go as opposed to a new iMac?

Thanks,
mikey

surflordca
Jan 7, 2008, 01:31 PM
I am a Newbie about to switch and I am considering getting a PowerMac G5. Just how noisy are they? Similar to a windows desktop? What is a fair price for one = $1,000? Is this a good way to go as opposed to a new iMac?

Thanks,
mikey

If you can afford it, get the new iMac.

Macinposh
Jan 7, 2008, 04:02 PM
The G5s noise levels vary from noisy to NOISY!

When they are idle they compare to standard pc, but when they ramp up the fans...all hell breaks loose. Have had a 2.5 and a 2.7 in the same room and oh boy when they start to compete. Itīs not even funny.
I am not particulary allergic to noise but those two were like a vacuum cleaner.

So,if your budget allows go for a intel iMac. Same or more power and compact design. And aah so quiet..

trainguy77
Jan 7, 2008, 05:26 PM
The ones we have at school are way less noisy then any PC out there. I think it depends on the model. I think the slower ones are quieter but i am not certain on that.

sk8ordie
Jan 7, 2008, 05:45 PM
Mine only gets loud in the summer (I have no AC and the house can get up to 95 degrees F).

speakerwizard
Jan 7, 2008, 06:16 PM
G5s were hot baby, there are like 8 fans in the water cooled ones, they rev frequestly, my 'office' is in my bedroom and i couldnt sleep if i rendered through the night, my c2d imac is almost silent, and faster with same ram. (the g5 was 2.8 dual and the imac core2duo 2.16)

jrlcopy
Jan 7, 2008, 06:28 PM
Anyone know about why when they lock up it sounds like a freakin jet engine about to take off?

Is this just a precaution to prevent the processors overheating? Or is the thing really ready to explode?

trainguy77