PDA

View Full Version : help with a power mac




Mr.Texor
Jan 8, 2008, 07:50 PM
I'm recieving a power mac G5 tomorrow (dual 1.8). it has only a 80GB drive, apparently.

What kind of hard drive do I need? is it sata? also... because of the apple case, do I need to buy anything special to make it fit?

thanks!



CWallace
Jan 8, 2008, 07:51 PM
I don't own one, so I obviously don't know. :o

Thanks for providing the correct info, cal6n. No more assuming for me.

cal6n
Jan 8, 2008, 07:59 PM
It should be PATA (parallel ATA).

Might need a drive mount, but you should be able to scavenge the one off the 80GB if it does.

Not sure if the BIOS has a hard limit in terms of capacity it recognizes. Probably not.

Completely wrong. The G5 takes a SATA drive and contains all the mounts necessary for 2 of them. You're thinking of the G4.

akm3
Jan 8, 2008, 09:35 PM
I don't own one, so I obviously don't know. :o

Thanks for providing the correct info, cal6n. No more assuming for me.

Even posting wrong information is helpful sometimes. People will sometimes ignore a question but I've never met anyone on an internet forum that will pass up a chance to correct bad information when they know the right answer :)

I know I do :)

Fastest way to get someone the right answer: Post the wrong answer.

cal6n
Jan 9, 2008, 03:04 AM
I don't own one, so I obviously don't know. :o

Thanks for providing the correct info, cal6n. No more assuming for me.

That's alright. I ran a G5 for nearly 3 years.

Mr.Texor
Jan 9, 2008, 03:20 PM
Completely wrong. The G5 takes a SATA drive and contains all the mounts necessary for 2 of them. You're thinking of the G4.

Would the power mac g5, be able to see the whole 500GB on a new drive?

Mr.Texor
Jan 9, 2008, 03:53 PM
I dislike to reply to myself, but I found an answer to my last question here:
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1333115&tstart=0



thanks for the answer to my first question :)