PDA

View Full Version : broadcast wifi from laptop to touch




OrangeCuse44
Jan 16, 2008, 10:27 AM
At work, there is no WiFi available. I connect a windows laptop to the internet using an ethernet cable. Is there any way to broadcast a wireless signal that my touch can connect to?



ArchiMark
Jan 16, 2008, 01:48 PM
At work, there is no WiFi available. I connect a windows laptop to the internet using an ethernet cable. Is there any way to broadcast a wireless signal that my touch can connect to?

Well, the way I do it at work is to connect an ethernet cable to the little portable access point that I bought. Works great...

Linksys Wireless-G Travel Router, Model number is WTR54GS V2.0. Only about 3x4" and comes with case. AC plug is built-in and retractable prongs....

:)

Hls811
Jan 16, 2008, 02:05 PM
Here ya go..
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?path=Mac/10.5/en/8156.html
Thats for 10.5

and this is for 10.4
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?path=Mac/10.4/en/mh336.html

OrangeCuse44
Jan 16, 2008, 02:16 PM
Thank you but at work im stuck with a craptastic HP windows laptop...of course doing this wont be simple like in OS X.

Hls811
Jan 16, 2008, 02:24 PM
Thank you but at work im stuck with a craptastic HP windows laptop...of course doing this wont be simple like in OS X.

Windows XP? Try this:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/306126