PDA

View Full Version : eMAC and leopard?




hk8899
Jan 18, 2008, 09:51 PM
Would a eMAC powerpc G4 upgrade to leopard. I think it is the best emac in the G4 series.:confused:



WildCowboy
Jan 19, 2008, 03:48 AM
Yep, it should be able to run Leopard pretty well. Make sure you have enough RAM...more is always better at the levels available to these machines. I believe Apple officially says it can take a maximum of 1 GB, but it can unofficially use 2 GB. The full 2 GB should give you a very nice system with Leopard. 1 GB should be okay, but you may notice some sluggishness at times.

Of course, that's probably true if you're running Tiger on it already, depending on what you use the machine for.

captainbeefheat
Jan 19, 2008, 01:39 PM
I have leopard running on my ibook which is g4 and runs fine. That has 1GB ram

eric55lv
Jan 19, 2008, 01:59 PM
How much GHz or MHz it it?

andrewag
Jan 20, 2008, 12:17 AM
Here's a list of eMac's which indicates if they meet Leopard's requirements (apart from DVD drive):

eMac (2002): NO
eMac (ATI Graphics): Low end: NO, Mid-High end: YES*
eMac (USB 2.0): YES*
eMac (2005): YES*

* RAM upgrade required from standard configuration and DVD drive needed to install

SarumanWhiteWiz
Jan 25, 2008, 02:18 AM
Hi,

Here are my specs:

700/512/40G/CDRW/LL

Can I upgrade my processor and put in a DVD drive so I can run Leopard? If so could you tell me about how much. Thanks

Saruman

KingYaba
Jan 25, 2008, 02:24 AM
Unfortunately you cannot upgrade the eMac processor. You can, however, put in a DVD drive.