PDA

View Full Version : Run screensaver at startup




neiltc13
Jan 22, 2008, 11:30 AM
Hey everyone,

I don't have a lot of Mac programming knowledge although I do know it is possible to run AppleScripts when the computer is started up to do various things.

Basically I have my computer set up with a password at the moment. I use eyeTV, which has the power to boot the computer from a seemingly off state and which without a login requirement would record the shows I wanted.

However, all that happens at the moment is that eyeTV boots the computer and it gets stuck at the login screen. I'd love to know if there is a way to automatically start the screensaver when I start the computer so that I can then let the computer automatically log in and then the programs will record for me.

Removing the password is not really an option because I don't like others having access to my files. I had a look around the web but I couldn't find any way to solve this problem.

Thanks for any help anyone can give.



xUKHCx
Jan 22, 2008, 11:36 AM
IF you want applescript to start the screensaver you can use this script

try
tell application "System Events"
if not (exists (process "ScreenSaverEngine")) then
activate application "ScreenSaverEngine"
end if
end tell
end try

Save it and put it in your Login items in system preferences and it should turn the screensaver on when you log in, can't verify myself as I have a process running which will take another 10 hours to finish so can't log out.

You may also want to check out this macosxhint (http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20061029084842710) which gives an alternative way of doing this

neiltc13
Jan 22, 2008, 12:21 PM
The first way mentioned didn't work. I compiled the script as a .app but it prompted to be run rather than just going right ahead and doing it.

kainjow
Jan 22, 2008, 12:23 PM
The first way mentioned didn't work. I compiled the script as a .app but it prompted to be run rather than just going right ahead and doing it.

When you go to save it, check the box "Run Only" in the save dialog.

xUKHCx
Jan 22, 2008, 12:32 PM
The first way mentioned didn't work. I compiled the script as a .app but it prompted to be run rather than just going right ahead and doing it.

Make sure that the following check box is clear

98847

neiltc13
Jan 22, 2008, 12:55 PM
The method outlined on that site you linked to - dragging the app to the login items seems to work exactly as i need it to. Thanks!