PDA

View Full Version : Got my AppleTV :)




CalMin
Jan 25, 2008, 11:27 AM
Picked up a 160gb model last night at the Apple store. Still has v1.1 and old packaging even though the guy implied it had just come in.

Impressions? Well, so far so good - I wish I'd got it a long time ago. It's so much better watching video podcasts on TV, and the DVDs I had converted for use on my iPod touch are actually watchable quality. I used the handbrake iPhone presets to rip them, so I was surprised at how good they look on a TV. I'll re-rip them using the Apple TV presets when I get time. My dream of a clutter free life is almost realized - my CDs are in boxes in the garage, and now I can do the same with my DVD collection.

Only issue so far is the slllloooowww sync. I left it overnight and only 20gb sync'ed. I don't have a great wireless setup - 802.11g and plenty of neighborhood interference. Streaming works great though.

Looking forward to v2.0.

OH - and thanks to the member of this forum for advice and info!! There's some great info.



Paix247
Jan 25, 2008, 11:34 AM
Congrats! I'm thinking about picking one up as well. The new software looks great.

samh004
Jan 25, 2008, 11:44 AM
Only issue so far is the slllloooowww sync. I left it overnight and only 20gb sync'ed. I don't have a great wireless setup - 802.11g and plenty of neighborhood interference. Streaming works great though.

Couldn't you connect it via ethernet for the first sync, it's only 10/100 but that's a bit better than 802.11g.

CalMin
Jan 25, 2008, 11:55 AM
Couldn't you connect it via ethernet for the first sync, it's only 10/100 but that's a bit better than 802.11g.

My house makes it logistically impossible to do this. I have a 25ft length of CAT5, but even that won't reach where the TV is. I'll just wait it out.

MikieMikie
Jan 25, 2008, 11:59 AM
My house makes it logistically impossible to do this. I have a 25ft length of CAT5, but even that won't reach where the TV is. I'll just wait it out.

Why not just put the :apple:TV right next to your computer for the first sync?

And BTW, welcome to the ranks. If you don't see YouTube in your main menu, upgrade to 1.1.

islandman
Jan 25, 2008, 12:22 PM
Very very cool! Congrats!

NightStorm
Jan 25, 2008, 12:23 PM
Picked up a 160gb model last night at the Apple store. Still has v1.1 and old packaging even though the guy implied it had just come in.

Impressions? Well, so far so good - I wish I'd got it a long time ago. It's so much better watching video podcasts on TV, and the DVDs I had converted for use on my iPod touch are actually watchable quality. I used the handbrake iPhone presets to rip them, so I was surprised at how good they look on a TV. I'll re-rip them using the Apple TV presets when I get time. My dream of a clutter free life is almost realized - my CDs are in boxes in the garage, and now I can do the same with my DVD collection.

Only issue so far is the slllloooowww sync. I left it overnight and only 20gb sync'ed. I don't have a great wireless setup - 802.11g and plenty of neighborhood interference. Streaming works great though.

Looking forward to v2.0.

OH - and thanks to the member of this forum for advice and info!! There's some great info.
Unless you are making a seperate encode for the AppleTV, remember that AppleTV encodes in Handbrake are incompatible with the iPhone/iPod Touch. Didn't want you to go through a bunch of work only to find that out. :)

imlucid
Jan 25, 2008, 12:52 PM
Why not just put the :apple:TV right next to your computer for the first sync?

That's a good idea. The ATV can run headless next to the computer. iTunes will show when the sync is done and you can move it back.

Kevin

georgeoommen
Jan 25, 2008, 12:52 PM
Unless you are making a seperate encode for the AppleTV, remember that AppleTV encodes in Handbrake are incompatible with the iPhone/iPod Touch. Didn't want you to go through a bunch of work only to find that out. :)

so whats the best encoding to use if i want to use the same file for apple tv, itunes (on mac mini connected to second TV) & iphone?? Is such an encoding even possible?

CalMin
Jan 25, 2008, 01:06 PM
Unless you are making a seperate encode for the AppleTV, remember that AppleTV encodes in Handbrake are incompatible with the iPhone/iPod Touch. Didn't want you to go through a bunch of work only to find that out. :)

Didn't know that. Thanks for the pointer.

That's a good idea. The ATV can run headless next to the computer. iTunes will show when the sync is done and you can move it back.

Kevin

Great idea! Pity it doesn't sync via USB if I'm going through all that.

NightStorm
Jan 25, 2008, 01:29 PM
so whats the best encoding to use if i want to use the same file for apple tv, itunes (on mac mini connected to second TV) & iphone?? Is such an encoding even possible?
Honestly, if you don't want to experiment with a custom preset, I would use the iPod (High Resolution) preset. It will give you a 720-wide resolution at 1500kbps, which I have found to be a good medium between the two devices. The new update for the iPhone/iPod Touch has allowed the HB dev team to find ways to do some more advanced things (anamorphic, higher bitrates, etc), but a preset based on this is a long way off (if ever).

You could always just encode the movie twice (one for AppleTV and one for iPhone), but I personally don't like this approach as it makes the library look messy.

evilyankeefan
Jan 25, 2008, 01:30 PM
Went out over lunch and picked up a 160GB.

Just waiting to leave work so I can hook her up.

CalMin
Jan 25, 2008, 01:32 PM
Why not just put the :apple:TV right next to your computer for the first sync?

And BTW, welcome to the ranks. If you don't see YouTube in your main menu, upgrade to 1.1.

Mikie - Awesome suggestion. The progress bar is flying. I hope it won't need to sync again when 2.0 comes out.

brinycbri
Jan 25, 2008, 01:34 PM
cant the appletv use 802.11n? if so, that might be worth investing in

CalMin
Jan 25, 2008, 01:35 PM
You could always just encode the movie twice (one for AppleTV and one for iPhone), but I personally don't like this approach as it makes the library look messy.

I think that's the approach I want to take. Messy library vs. picture quality wins my vote. I hope Apple comes up with hierarchal libraries and/or movie playlists so that I can separate the different encodes in time.

MikieMikie
Jan 25, 2008, 01:54 PM
I think that's the approach I want to take. Messy library vs. picture quality wins my vote. I hope Apple comes up with hierarchal libraries and/or movie playlists so that I can separate the different encodes in time.

I feel the same way. I re-encode using handbrake when I need an iPhone movie or two. I name it (in MetaX) z(MovieName) so that it's at the end of the iTunes library section. I sync it, pop out my iPhone, then delete it from iTunes. No harm, no foul. ;)

imlucid
Jan 25, 2008, 02:46 PM
Mikie - Awesome suggestion. The progress bar is flying. I hope it won't need to sync again when 2.0 comes out.

You shouldn't. The media doesn't get affected on an update.

Kevin

elmo151
Jan 25, 2008, 02:57 PM
cant the appletv use 802.11n? if so, that might be worth investing in

yes!

that's my hookup. works like a charm and appears a requirement for the Airbook

NightStorm
Jan 25, 2008, 03:06 PM
I think that's the approach I want to take. Messy library vs. picture quality wins my vote. I hope Apple comes up with hierarchal libraries and/or movie playlists so that I can separate the different encodes in time.
That was my approach as well, but I've recently come around and started building a custom preset with anamorphic and CRF encodes that, while a little on the large side, works with both devices and is high-quality. The stuff the devs have put into the next release is really fantastic; I do miss being able to use b-frames though...

imlucid
Jan 25, 2008, 03:28 PM
I think that's the approach I want to take. Messy library vs. picture quality wins my vote. I hope Apple comes up with hierarchal libraries and/or movie playlists so that I can separate the different encodes in time.

You could also just add the movies to two different playlists, one for ATV and one for iPod/iPhone.

You can sync movies by playlists.

Kevin

WarMace
Jan 25, 2008, 05:28 PM
so whats the best encoding to use if i want to use the same file for apple tv, itunes (on mac mini connected to second TV) & iphone?? Is such an encoding even possible?

I use the iPod high rez preset in Handbrake but I change the resolution to 640x400 (16:10). iTunes won't send any video over 640 pixels wide to the iPod and the 16:10 ratio fits my iMac and TV exactly and is closer to iPhones 1.5:1 screen. (Never understood why we have 16:10 screens to watch 16:9 movies on.) Also 1500 kbps is the highest bitrate the iPod and iPhone will handle.

If you don't have an iPod to worry about I would use the iPod preset (iPods and iPhones need the iPod encoder not the Main profile) and switch the resolution to the anamorphic setting. This preserves the exact pixels of the original DVD. Most of the movies I have encoded like this will play on my iPhone but not all. The iPhone didn't originally support anamorphic so maybe Apple is still perfecting it. If you find some that don't work you could just reencode them as neccessary.

NightStorm
Jan 25, 2008, 06:17 PM
I use the iPod high rez preset in Handbrake but I change the resolution to 640x400 (16:10). iTunes won't send any video over 640 pixels wide to the iPod and the 16:10 ratio fits my iMac and TV exactly and is closer to iPhones 1.5:1 screen. (Never understood why we have 16:10 screens to watch 16:9 movies on.) Also 1500 kbps is the highest bitrate the iPod and iPhone will handle.

If you don't have an iPod to worry about I would use the iPod preset (iPods and iPhones need the iPod encoder not the Main profile) and switch the resolution to the anamorphic setting. This preserves the exact pixels of the original DVD. Most of the movies I have encoded like this will play on my iPhone but not all. The iPhone didn't originally support anamorphic so maybe Apple is still perfecting it. If you find some that don't work you could just reencode them as neccessary.
This is not true... the iPhone/iPod Touch/current generation iPods can handle highter bitrates than 1500kbps. You can also sync 720-wide content (and now even anamorphic) to an iPod Touch/iPhone. Also, the reason for 16:10 monitors is because you are supposed to be able to fit 2 pages of text side-by-side comfortably on the screen at this ratio.

For now, use the iPod High-Resolution preset if you want good quality on all of your Apple devices.

WarMace
Jan 25, 2008, 08:55 PM
This is not true... the iPhone/iPod Touch/current generation iPods can handle highter bitrates than 1500kbps.

Any idea specifically what bitrate the 5G iPod will handle?

DarkMCS
Jan 25, 2008, 10:29 PM
Just got a 160Gb one today. Unfortunately, I haven't tried it yet as it's been syncing with my iTunes library & iPhoto albums since 3PM (it's 11:30PM now)

The syncing process is looooooong!!! I'll let it do its thing overnight and will play with it tomorrow morning. :)

So far, the installation is straight forward and very easy. The unit is just beautiful and simple, just the way Apple do things! lol :apple:

CalMin
Jan 25, 2008, 11:24 PM
Just got a 160Gb one today. Unfortunately, I haven't tried it yet as it's been syncing with my iTunes library & iPhoto albums since 3PM (it's 11:30PM now)

The syncing process is looooooong!!! I'll let it do its thing overnight and will play with it tomorrow morning. :)

So far, the installation is straight forward and very easy. The unit is just beautiful and simple, just the way Apple do things! lol :apple:

Congrats to you too. I found the sync slow too, but after reading the tip above, I moved it next to the computer and had it done in less than a couple hours. Subsequent wireless syncs (updated podcasts and photo's so far) are relatively painless.

MikieMikie
Jan 26, 2008, 08:35 AM
Just got a 160Gb one today. Unfortunately, I haven't tried it yet as it's been syncing with my iTunes library & iPhoto albums since 3PM (it's 11:30PM now)

The syncing process is looooooong!!! I'll let it do its thing overnight and will play with it tomorrow morning. :)

So far, the installation is straight forward and very easy. The unit is just beautiful and simple, just the way Apple do things! lol :apple:

Welcome to the fold. Hope you are enjoying.

DarkMCS
Jan 26, 2008, 09:06 AM
Thanks guys!

Unfortunately, iTunes froze during the night and I couldn't try my Apple TV yet... It still has +- 3000 pictures to import... :rolleyes:

I'll probably get to try it later today! :)

BioChron
Jan 26, 2008, 04:40 PM
Glad that it is working for you. :-) I've been thinking about getting one.

bergmef
Jan 28, 2008, 07:40 AM
Got mine on Friday. Love it and the neighbors (yes 's') want one. Been using metaX to add the data to my handbrake created files.

Can you use the usb port on the back for a harddrive? Or is it for troubleshooting only.

MikieMikie
Jan 28, 2008, 07:45 AM
Got mine on Friday. Love it and the neighbors (yes 's') want one. Been using metaX to add the data to my handbrake created files.

Can you use the usb port on the back for a harddrive? Or is it for troubleshooting only.

Welcome!

The USB port in the back is not user-accessible unless you hack your unit.

If you need more hard drive space, consider and external drive hooked to your computer and stream your film from there.

kbunch
Jan 28, 2008, 07:57 AM
I just picked up my 40 gig AppleTV last night! It has been awsome. I choose just to stream mine instead of waiting for it to sync. Luckly My Linksys wireless router and 4 port LAN switch sit in my entertainment center right next to the AppleTV so when I do go to sync it should not take that long.

So when does 2.0 come out? I was all set to rent a movie last night and was disappointed that the AppleTV does not have that functionality yet.

MikieMikie
Jan 28, 2008, 07:59 AM
So when does 2.0 come out? I was all set to rent a movie last night and was disappointed that the AppleTV does not have that functionality yet.

Should be any day now.

bergmef
Jan 28, 2008, 08:03 AM
My NAS (dns-323) has an itunes server. I'm hoping I can stream from there and leave the computer off.

MikieMikie
Jan 28, 2008, 08:14 AM
My NAS (dns-323) has an itunes server. I'm hoping I can stream from there and leave the computer off.

It is my understanding that this is not possible. iTunes is a server and, as such, needs to be running on a Mac or PC. You must stream through an active iTunes.

Anything you sync to your :apple:TV does not require iTunes to be running on another machine.

musicpenguy
Jan 29, 2008, 07:26 AM
The setup I use - I encode at the best quality the Apple TV can handle using Handbrake. I then went back when I got my iPhone and using Visualhub created copies for my Portable Devices in which I will add to the title Portable Version i.e. -

Fight Club (Portable Version)

This makes it really clean and simple to know which versions will work on which devices I have.

I hope this helps - it took me a while to figure out this very simple technique of naming to help organize my content.