Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Imhotep397

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 22, 2002
Ok, I'm interested in building my own art themed online community. I'm a designer with limited coding experience/knowledge, but have a pretty good idea of how I would want my backend to logically work. To a large extent I would rather build the thing myself so I can change anything and/or everything if necessary. I also understand the importance of having pretty much everything pre-constructed within already existing backend to get up quickly. Do you think it makes more sense (can it even be done?) to build a forum community with image galleries using WO and MySQL or Filemaker or can this kind of thing really only be done with software like VBulletin?

sord

macrumors 6502
Jun 16, 2004
...(can it even be done?) to build a forum community with image galleries using WO and MySQL...

hehe...you make me laugh :D

YES Of course it could! For an experienced developer it wouldn't be very difficult too, however without programming experience it would certainly take awhile.

EDIT: Fixed type ;) Thanks angelwatt

angelwatt

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
USA
...For an experienced developer it wouldn't be very difficult too, however without programming experience it wouldn't certainly take awhile.

So you're saying it would be easier to do by an inexperienced person? ;) Gotta love typos.

SrWebDeveloper

macrumors 68000
Dec 7, 2007
Alexandria, VA, USA
I'll address the vBulletin aspect.

It is excellent for integrating other things into it, i.e. blogs or third party freeware or shareware scripts to extend the basic functionality of the forum software.