Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

davidy

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 28, 2008
I have a Touch, upgraded to 1.1.3

I had about 2GB of music loaded in when I started playing around with adding web apps. In all, I added 28 web apps.

However, when I then tried to add more music I found that the memory was full with 0GB available. Checking with iTunes, it showed that there was 5.65GB of memory used under the "Other" category.

The local Apple Store "Geniuses" couldn't explain the memory problem but surmised that the 28 apps I added used up the memory. I find this incredible since the wab apps are nothing more than bookmarks and the 28 apps were using 5.65GB of memory, or 200MB each!

It seems, after all, that they were right. I removed all the apps and did a system restore. That cleared the memory problem.

Just passing along the information to those of you who may be contemplating adding web apps to your Touch. Has anyone else had similar symptoms? I've written to customer support at Apple for an explanation but haven't heard back yet.

nakile

macrumors regular
Jun 30, 2007
Isn't the webpage that you make a web clip out of cached to the iPod Touch?

marykay9507

macrumors 6502a
Jan 18, 2008
that seems a little strange-- since you did the restore have you tried adding any web apps?

davidy

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 28, 2008
I have a few webclips and my "Other" memory is less than 10MB.

That's what I might have expected, however, as I said, mine was sucking up over 200MB per bookmark. How many wabapps do you have all together?

Isn't the webpage that you make a web clip out of cached to the iPod Touch?

That may be, but these are simple singel pages that are created for and sized for the iPod Touch. That's maybe 1/12 the size of a PC page and only a few KB at the most.

you are mistaking memory for disc space or in the case of the touch flash drive space.