PDA

View Full Version : Leopard Server Time Machine




dyerucf
Jan 30, 2008, 10:56 AM
How do I set the directory on the server where clients back up to? When I installed server on my mini my client laptop asked if I wanted to back up to the server. I chose this option but my laptop has more data then my host mini can handle. So I bought an external Hard drive for this task. I cant see how to set the client macbook to back up to this harddrive. Any ideas?

john



fall3n
Feb 4, 2008, 01:10 AM
Well, first question...what type of server setup did you pick initially? Standard, workgroup, or advanced? If one of the first two, you should be able to change your Time Machine target location in the Server Preferences panel. If advanced then you do it through Server Admin under the Sharing pane, I believe.

On a side note, if you only have one machine as a client (your laptop), why not just plug the external hd straight into your laptop? That way you don't have to transfer all your data over your LAN every hour.

StarkVader
Feb 8, 2008, 07:44 PM
Hi,
I know Leopard Server can be set up to backup all clients via Time Machine, but my question is can the CLIENTS actually access the Time Machine backup, or is it only available via Server?

Will the clients be able to access the Time Machine drive hanging off Server, as if it was hanging off their own client machine? Are there any specific settings to allow this? The documentation is unclear.

Thanks

Aussie John
Apr 2, 2008, 12:31 AM
You can set a backup disk as a share point. This is not the best way to retrieve backup files though and should be done through time machine.

.mark.
Apr 18, 2008, 06:26 PM
Hi,
I know Leopard Server can be set up to backup all clients via Time Machine, but my question is can the CLIENTS actually access the Time Machine backup, or is it only available via Server?

Will the clients be able to access the Time Machine drive hanging off Server, as if it was hanging off their own client machine? Are there any specific settings to allow this? The documentation is unclear.

Thanks

i would like to know the answer to this also - anyone?

chrisale
Feb 4, 2009, 01:26 PM
To backup clients to your Leopard Server you access the Time Machine Preference Pane through Workgroup Manager.

Pick the Computer Account or Computer Group you want, click Preferences, Time Machine and enter in the AFP address of your backup volume.

ChrisA
Feb 4, 2009, 01:39 PM
On a side note, if you only have one machine as a client (your laptop), why not just plug the external hd straight into your laptop? That way you don't have to transfer all your data over your LAN every hour.

People like to be able to use notebooks "un-tethered", without wires. Also only the new or changed files are sent every hour. So most hours there is little data to send.

There is also some security in keeping your data in a fixed location that does not move. External drives that move with notebooks can get dropped or stolen so you'd have a chance of loosing the notebook AND backup at the same time. The greater the physical distance between data and backup the better

sprale
Aug 8, 2009, 11:43 PM
I have a dual 1gHZ G4 as a home server running Leopard Server. I have a 320Gb FW external drive hooked up for Time Machine backups for three MacBooks. The wireless network seems to be taking a hit with the systems backing up hourly. I think I'll take the FW drive off the server and have my MacBooks connect directly as convenient for backup. I have a workstation at my desk for server and MacBook via KVM. It's probably the best solution without looking to SuperDuper for scheduling, though that would likely be the most accurate and reliable solution. Either way, this is a discussion worth continuing and maybe tacking up as a sticky.