PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake 0.9.1 AppleTV Preset and TV Shows




slate1
Jan 30, 2008, 10:57 AM
I've searched here and via Google and haven't found an answer...

When ripping TV Shows (say, Lost Season 1) from DVD do I need to change any of the default "AppleTV" preset settings?

I've found some information saying the "AppleTV" preset is for conversion of film based material and not for video (TV Show) based material. If so, what would I need to change?



wmealer
Jan 30, 2008, 11:18 AM
check your picture settings first... if you see obvious interlacing in scenes with fast motion, you'll need to select "de-interlace."

Many TV shows were shot on film and don't require this extra step. It's just a matter of checking in your picture settings window first.

NightStorm
Jan 30, 2008, 02:51 PM
Just a suggestion, if that is the case, use Slow Deinterlacing and not Fast. You'll thank me later. :)

ipoddin
Jan 30, 2008, 04:26 PM
Lost is shot on film.

I've searched here and via Google and haven't found an answer...

When ripping TV Shows (say, Lost Season 1) from DVD do I need to change any of the default "AppleTV" preset settings?

I've found some information saying the "AppleTV" preset is for conversion of film based material and not for video (TV Show) based material. If so, what would I need to change?

slate1
Jan 30, 2008, 07:18 PM
Thank you for the replies so far - very helpful!:)

So, if I'm doing something like MASH or Seinfeld then I should presume that I'll need to de-interlace or is it totally hit-or-miss regardless of when the show was produced?

WarMace
Jan 30, 2008, 07:29 PM
If you are unsure just run a chapter of one episode real quick without deinterlacing and see what it looks like. Sometimes you can tell just by looking at the Handbrake previews, sometimes not. You'll know whether you need it when you watch the test file.

ipoddin
Jan 31, 2008, 01:46 AM
Thank you for the replies so far - very helpful!:)

So, if I'm doing something like MASH or Seinfeld then I should presume that I'll need to de-interlace or is it totally hit-or-miss regardless of when the show was produced?

Both of those shows were also shot on film.

NightStorm
Jan 31, 2008, 08:26 AM
If you are unsure just run a chapter of one episode real quick without deinterlacing and see what it looks like. Sometimes you can tell just by looking at the Handbrake previews, sometimes not. You'll know whether you need it when you watch the test file.
I found that starting with season 8 of seinfeld, they switched the way they mastered the DVDs and I had to enable detelecine (or maybe it was VFR, dont remember for sure). Just a heads up.

MattV151
Feb 2, 2008, 10:08 PM
Is the ATV preset in Handbrake full DVD quality?

Tilpots
Feb 2, 2008, 11:23 PM
Is the ATV preset in Handbrake full DVD quality?

No. Using the :apple:TV setting is still compressing the video. Handbrake is used to reduce the size of the file, but still maintain a quality picture. If you want the uncompressed DVD file, use something like Mac the Ripper.

ascender
Feb 3, 2008, 04:03 AM
Using the pre-configured Handbrake settings, how big are episodes of Seinfeld coming out as? And how do these compare quality-wise to watching the original DVDs?