Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

switcher22

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 14, 2003
Winnipeg, MB
I am in the market for either an iBook or PB and am thinking about waiting until the iBook is refreashed (maybe November).

How will the performance of the new G3 stack up against the
new G4s ? Any other important comparisons between the iBook / PB I should think about?

I am a student and plan to use the machine for the standard web surfing, email and wordprocessing as well as some more intense apps like graphics and development.

yoda13

macrumors 65816
Sep 26, 2003
Texas
the powerbooks usually have much better graphics chipsets in them, and unless this changes (and it could) with iBook updates, you can only get a superdrive with a PB. I have both and I recommend the PB. Plus the iBook doesn't have altivec which is handy with some graphics and video apps.

switcher22

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 14, 2003
Winnipeg, MB
Originally posted by yoda13
Plus the iBook doesn't have altivec which is handy with some graphics and video apps.

How much impact does the altivec have on day to day operations like word processing and surfing the net? In non-altivec enhanced apps is there much of difference at all?

As a student I am also on a tight budget making me look specifically at the 12in PB - it sure is portable but is the screen size a problem? what about the heat ?

QCassidy352

macrumors G5
Mar 20, 2003
Bay Area
I have the new 12" PB and used to have a 900 mhz ibook. The PB is much faster. It is worth noting that my ibook scored a 43 on xbench while my PB scored an 87. Take xbench results for what they're worth though. (how the 12" PB will do against the new ibooks is anyone's guess).