PDA

View Full Version : VMWare Fusion running Boot Camp WinXP install?




airboot
Feb 5, 2008, 01:11 AM
I installed WinXP using Boot Camp on my MacBook Air. The WinXP install runs fine.

I then installed VMWare Fusion w/latest 1.1.1 update and tried to run the WinXP Boot Camp partition. However, it failed during the preprocessing Boot Camp partition stage.

Has anyone else been able to get this to work? Either with XP or Vista?

Perhaps VMWare Fusion needs an update to be able to run a Boot Camp partition on the MacBook Air?



Magguss
Feb 5, 2008, 01:27 AM
Hi airboot!

An interesting question in my opinion is whether it is possible to install Windows without the SuperDrive, either via air or via ethernet-dongle? Which method did you use?

Cheers

airboot
Feb 5, 2008, 05:17 PM
Hi Magguss,

I used the SuperDrive. I needed the SuperDrive for other reasons too, so I didn't try to find an alternative method of installing Windows.

johnlvx
Feb 5, 2008, 07:49 PM
airboot,
I am having the exact same issue with Vista Business. The VMWare Fusion app just crashes and shuts down as soon as you press the play button on the VM. I think the air may have a slightly different version of bootcamp due to its new hardware(chipset and processor are highly suspect in this) and Fusion will need an update from VMWare to correct. I havent tried Parallells. Boot Camp is almost a must with this because of the memory limitation... there are some times that more than 1.5GB will be needed and the only way to get that is Boot Camp/VM hybrid solution.

Krevnik
Feb 5, 2008, 08:30 PM
airboot,
I am having the exact same issue with Vista Business. The VMWare Fusion app just crashes and shuts down as soon as you press the play button on the VM. I think the air may have a slightly different version of bootcamp due to its new hardware(chipset and processor are highly suspect in this) and Fusion will need an update from VMWare to correct. I havent tried Parallells. Boot Camp is almost a must with this because of the memory limitation... there are some times that more than 1.5GB will be needed and the only way to get that is Boot Camp/VM hybrid solution.

Before you give up, try going into the VM settings and disconnecting the CD/DVD drive. Then hit run.

I had the same issue with VMWare today (not a BootCamp partition, but basically) and it was due to the CD/DVD drive support.

johnlvx
Feb 5, 2008, 08:37 PM
I will give the cddrive thing a try. For the record, Parallels works.

johnlvx
Feb 5, 2008, 08:40 PM
Before you give up, try going into the VM settings and disconnecting the CD/DVD drive. Then hit run.

I had the same issue with VMWare today (not a BootCamp partition, but basically) and it was due to the CD/DVD drive support.


Bravo! It worked. Thanks Krevnik.

airboot
Feb 6, 2008, 12:14 AM
Yes, that fixed it. Thanks Krevnik!

However, when I did "Install VMWare Tools" it seemed like VMWare crashed. Window and dock icon disappeared. I started VMWare again and the VM was back where it left off - now asking me to restart Windows because new drivers had been installed.

I restarted but VMWare still thinks that the Tools have not been installed. If I select the Install Tools menu option again nothing happens.

Another issue I'm having with Boot Camp: sometimes the SuperDrive does not work under WinXP. The slot loading mechanism won't let me insert a disc. If I boot into MacOS X, then boot back into WinXP (using Boot Camp), it starts working. Anyone else seeing this? Is my SuperDrive defective?

seecoolguy
Feb 6, 2008, 01:59 AM
when doing bootcamp, do you loose the ability to snapshot and revert snapshots?

airboot
Feb 6, 2008, 06:52 PM
when doing bootcamp, do you loose the ability to snapshot and revert snapshots?
Yes, those features seem to be disabled. The Unity feature is not available either.

johnlvx
Feb 6, 2008, 10:53 PM
I actually ditched boot camp and installed XP instead of Vista as a regular virtual machine. It seemed like less trouble. Besides, 1.25GB of ram is plenty for XP, even for windows development which is what I am using it for.