PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading Processor on G4




Cal555
Feb 6, 2008, 11:02 PM
Well, I got my G4 up and running finally onto Tiger.
But I really want to see if I can upgrade the processor in it to maybe an intel core duo but I'm not sure if my G4 can support it?

-Cheers



aibo
Feb 6, 2008, 11:40 PM
G4 macs can be upgraded but only to a faster G4. These G4 CPU upgrades are not particularly cheap.

MikeL
Feb 6, 2008, 11:44 PM
Well, I got my G4 up and running finally onto Tiger.
But I really want to see if I can upgrade the processor in it to maybe an intel core duo but I'm not sure if my G4 can support it?

Nope, no can do. As the previous poster said, you can only upgrade to faster G4s. The Intel chips use a completely different set of technologies.

G4 upgrades have come down in price. Depending on which G4 you have, you can see a significant boost in speed for under $100. It really is throwing good money after bad, however.

Cal555
Feb 7, 2008, 12:11 AM
Alright, thanks though.
I doubt I'll upgrade to another G4 processor which only offers a bit more performance.
Might as well save that money for a new monitor?
Or I could just stick to my iMac for Intel needed work.