Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

richard371

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Feb 1, 2008
I am really frustrated. My first air had serious battery problems where it took over 10 hours to charge. I tried the battery condition etc and pram resets and it didn't help. I took it to the genius bar and they also noticed when you plug it in it says it says 10 hours to charge. They agreed there was a problem and replaced the unit.

I got the second air home plugged it in and it was at about 80% After about 90 mins it charged fully. I took it off the ac power and used it until the batt ran completely down. I left it off and plugged it in about 11 pm. I woke up at 7am noticed the charge light was still amber and turned on the air and it was at 75%

I am a network engineer and a desktop support technician before that, I have dealt with many PCs and macs and have never seen anything like this. I like this computer but just dont feel good if i have to replace it for a third one.

I am going to give it through the weekend to see if the battery sorts out or if some sort of fix comes out but if not i am going to speak with a store manager and demand a full refund with no restock fee. i just got a macbook black last week and was going to return it but the air is so much more pleasent to use in the screen is awesome but the macbook has no problems.

ctt1wbw

macrumors 68000
Jan 17, 2008
Seaford VA
Maybe you got some units that were made on a Friday afternoon or something. I got my unit yesterday afternoon and it didn't take long at all for the battery to fully charge, maybe 20 minutes or so.

ahaxton

macrumors 6502a
Jan 17, 2008
When the adapter is still showing amber and still not showing up as completely charged, it worked for me, unplug adapter, shut down, plug adapter back in and turn mba back on. It might need a little kick start to display correctly.