PDA

View Full Version : Virtual PC in Panther


ihparker
Oct 23, 2003, 12:04 PM
I use Virtual PC for an important application. It works just fine in 10.2. Does anyone know whether it will work in 10.3?

Thanks

pjhawksr
Oct 23, 2003, 12:27 PM
Yes, it runs fine.

VicMacs
Oct 23, 2003, 12:43 PM
runs great with xp on a dp 867 running panther

ihparker
Oct 23, 2003, 12:58 PM
Thanks. Mine is set to arrive Friday by 4:30pm.

bperkins
Oct 23, 2003, 01:01 PM
I did a CCC back up to my external FW drive. Where are the files that I save on the c: drive of VPC located on my Mac? I am going to do a clean install, and I want to sure that everything is on the firewire drive before I clean install.

psxndc
Oct 23, 2003, 01:13 PM
The short: Should I expect speed improvements from VPC on my 700MHz iBook if I simply install Panther?

The long: I bought VPC for use on my ibook and the performacne and use to hard drive space ratio didn't sit well with me. It used a quarter of my 20 GB drive's space and was kinda slow. As such, I uninstalled it.

Is the speed of VPC related to the application and the processor, or does the underlying OS play a part too? Would simply upgrading from 10.2 to 10.3 provide a performance increase or will I just have to wait until I get a new computer to achieve my emulation dream?

-p

Chealion
Oct 23, 2003, 01:32 PM
bperkins - Everything stored on your C: drive in VPC is actually stored in a document called (DISKNAME).vp6. The Diskname is what you called it and it should be either in your Documents folder or whereever you placed the file. But since you CCC'd your hard drive, don't worry, as from the Mac side, your VPC hard drive is just another document like a text document. (Though a wee bit bigger). No worries for you.


psxndc - The short: You should.
The long: The performance of VPC is very much proportional to processor speed and amount of L3 cache. Having an L3 Cache increases the speed immensely (your iBook does not have L3 Cache). You can emulate now if you want, but don't expect it to be a 2.0 Ghz P4, more like about 1/3 of your processor speed at a Pentium II. That and with a really crappy video card.

bperkins
Oct 23, 2003, 01:45 PM
Thanks Chealion

Chealion
Oct 23, 2003, 02:31 PM
Anytime :)

zaphoyd
Oct 23, 2003, 03:18 PM
Virtual pc has one glaring problem in panther. You only get it if you have multiple monitors. After starting up the pc, it draws a thick black outline of the main screen, that procedes to follow the mouse around until you restart the mac. Even after you quit vpc. Here is a screen shot. Anyone know of a remedy?

Please note, this is developer build 7B80 (VPC 6.1), (didnt bother to dl 3 7B85 CDs and go through that hassle and whatnot, just going to wait until my retail arrives for that)

here is a screen shot
http://www.zaphoyd.com/junk/blackbars.jpg
those black bars represent a black box around the main screen that moves with the mouse and causes major annoyance.

-Peter Thorson
Zaphoyd Graphics and Software
www.zaphoyd.com

LuckyJack
Oct 24, 2003, 12:52 AM
Originally posted by psxndc
The short: Should I expect speed improvements from VPC on my 700MHz iBook if I simply install Panther?

The long: I bought VPC for use on my ibook and the performacne and use to hard drive space ratio didn't sit well with me. It used a quarter of my 20 GB drive's space and was kinda slow. As such, I uninstalled it.

Is the speed of VPC related to the application and the processor, or does the underlying OS play a part too? Would simply upgrading from 10.2 to 10.3 provide a performance increase or will I just have to wait until I get a new computer to achieve my emulation dream?

-p
As a fellow owner of a 700mhz iBook I share your pain. VPC 6 is still a slow beast in Panther, and I've seen virtually no improvement in speed over 10.2.8. Sorry. For what I use it for (very limited application) it's acceptable, but I can understand a very large degree of frustration associated with it.

wdlove
Oct 24, 2003, 11:50 AM
My understanding is that Virtual PC currently doesn't run on the G5. Hopefully Microsoft will have a fix soon.

tsiawdspeed
Oct 24, 2003, 12:02 PM
I also use VPC with XP on a 700 iBook. It is slow but I got more memory for it (now running 640MB) and it is alot faster. I am running an older version of Panther (7B68) and it seems faster than it did when I had Jaguar.

kenaustus
Oct 24, 2003, 05:23 PM
Just tested VPC (XP) on my 667 PB and it is kicking ass compared to any version of Jag. In fact this is the app where I have seen the greatest increase in speed. I have, however, maxed the memory that VPC uses, which is also a major factor in how fast it goes.

LuckyJack
Oct 24, 2003, 05:32 PM
Originally posted by tsiawdspeed
I also use VPC with XP on a 700 iBook. It is slow but I got more memory for it (now running 640MB) and it is alot faster. I am running an older version of Panther (7B68) and it seems faster than it did when I had Jaguar. Hmmm, sounds like it's time to move up from the 386mb that I've been limping along with for the past while...