PDA

View Full Version : TCIP over Firewire


ennerseed
Oct 23, 2003, 01:41 PM
Does anybody know if TCIP over Firewire is implemented in Panther?

mklos
Oct 23, 2003, 02:28 PM
I'm not sure, but you can check if it is. Go to the Apple Menu, System Preferences. Then click on the network system preference pane. Then click on the pull down menu next to Show and then click on Network Port Configurations. If Ethernet Adapter (en1) is listed or one called FireWire then IP over FireWire is included in Panther. Otherwise you can download it from the Apple Developer Site. You need to be a member, and signing up is free. Its not a very big download...but keep in mind that if its not in Panther then its still in beta and it may do funny things with your system.

ennerseed
Oct 23, 2003, 03:12 PM
I am asking because I don't have Panther and cannot see if it is included. I have a lame ethernet hub and all my AppleTalk transfers go out through the net and back. The TCPIP over Firewire beta for Jaguar allowed me to set AppleTalk to just the Firewire connection, but was unstable. So, I am trying to find out if this has been included, as not a beta, in Panther. Hoping it is also stable.

daveL
Oct 23, 2003, 03:24 PM
FW shows up in the "add" menu item under "network ports", so I guess the answer is yes, but I haven't tried it.