PDA

View Full Version : Help powerbook g4 wont boot.




colinrobert
Feb 8, 2008, 12:10 PM
Hi I have a Powerbook G4 with an error message when I boot. "You need to restart your computer. Hold down the Power button for several seconds or Press the restart button". Restarting the computer doesn't work. You can see an image of the error message by going to http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2370/2251096468_3f10221d07_o.jpg Please help! Thanks.



bartelby
Feb 8, 2008, 12:11 PM
What you're getting is what's called a Kernel Panic.

Have you made any changes to the hardware?

New RAM, HD or optical drive etc

rodobrodo
Feb 14, 2008, 01:48 PM
Good Day

I left my laptop off for 3 months with no baterrie, duo a trip to EU, after trying to turn it on , I could not get pass by the Kernel display,
I did backup my system through firewire as slave HD, I can start the computer holding down shift at startup, but then a few functions wont work, it is just the safe boot.

I re-install my MAC OSX 10.4 then the up date to 10.4.11 but still no lock.

I also try to connect it to the internet via ethernet cable but I guess it is disable.

I really don't know what else to do,
rodobrodo is offline Reply With Quote

Reflow
Feb 14, 2008, 02:01 PM
Hi I have a Powerbook G4 with an error message when I boot. "You need to restart your computer. Hold down the Power button for several seconds or Press the restart button". Restarting the computer doesn't work. You can see an image of the error message by going to http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2370/2251096468_3f10221d07_o.jpg Please help! Thanks.

Have you reset the Pram,PMU

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=2238

rodobrodo
Feb 16, 2008, 07:55 AM
Good Day

Still no lock , just try to Reset PRAM and NVRAM and I am still getting hte kernel display,
I also reset the PMU and still no lock

but again if I try to turn it on holding shift , the computer start normally on safe boot , and it seems to have no hardware error what so ever.

If anybody has any other ideias I am glad to try..

Many thanks.

Reflow
Feb 16, 2008, 11:32 PM
Good Day

Still no lock , just try to Reset PRAM and NVRAM and I am still getting hte kernel display,
I also reset the PMU and still no lock

but again if I try to turn it on holding shift , the computer start normally on safe boot , and it seems to have no hardware error what so ever.

If anybody has any other ideias I am glad to try..

Many thanks.

Try removing the ram and boot it back up.

rodobrodo
Feb 18, 2008, 08:22 AM
I did that too, with both 512MB at the time, and the same problem. but It also pass the test.

I apreciate anyother ideias

thanks