PDA

View Full Version : Aperture 2.0 has arrived




yeroen
Feb 12, 2008, 07:39 AM
finally

but no trial download?



scotthayes
Feb 12, 2008, 11:51 AM
And only 65 in the UK for the upgrade :D just waiting for it to be put on the UK store.

Oh and there is a 30 days free trial on the uk site

http://www.apple.com/uk/aperture/trial/

Doylem
Feb 12, 2008, 12:32 PM
And only 65 in the UK for the upgrade :D just waiting for it to be put on the UK store.

Oh and there is a 30 days free trial on the uk site

http://www.apple.com/uk/aperture/trial/

It's up now... :)

It's supposed to be a lot quicker. Hope so... 'cos I'm seeing a lot of those spinning beachballs...

davinche
Feb 12, 2008, 01:40 PM
The US trial has been up since early this morning. I downloaded it first thing and have been playing with it for a few hours. It seems a lot faster to me, the interface is slightly different. I already ordered my upgrade key just waiting for it to arrive.

scotthayes
Feb 12, 2008, 04:03 PM
Won't let me install the trial because I've got a licenced version on my laptop

Digital Skunk
Feb 12, 2008, 04:09 PM
A worthy upgrade adding some of the features I was begging for. I have to see how it handles my actual library when I buy the full version and reference my images. (I don't have my entire library with me, just the stuff I am currently working on)

So far, the much improved full screen workflow and the tethered shooting are my favorites, including the inspector window which Apple has mastered in their other applications, iPhoto viewing instead of importing, and web galleries ala iPhoto. This makes me want to pay the cash for iLife 08)

The editing is much improved (retouch alone) and makes me wonder if I will need PS as much. I may just have to get into Aperture some more and try my best to not use PS when I am in the field or in a crunch.

I will do my testing and read the reviews and see where I stand.

lloyd709
Feb 12, 2008, 04:17 PM
I just downloaded it but it downloaded version 1.5.6. I double checked everything (and did everything again) and I'm for sure at the right page but I get the 1.5.6 trial - any one else having this problem?

M@lew
Feb 12, 2008, 05:36 PM
You have to rename your old Aperture before you can install the new one. Only the licensed Aperture 2 will allow you to upgrade your old library because just incase you want to stick with 1.5 you can.

lloyd709
Feb 12, 2008, 05:53 PM
You have to rename your old Aperture before you can install the new one. Only the licensed Aperture 2 will allow you to upgrade your old library because just incase you want to stick with 1.5 you can.

I don't have and old version of Aperture - I've never used it. I wouldn't have thought that this would mean I can't download Version 2.

It's very strange, I've just tried it again. The Apple page says Aperture 2 at the top but when I click on download (after I've gone through the process of registering for my trial license number) it downloads version 1.5.6. It's mad - or I'm mad!!

Abstract
Feb 12, 2008, 06:03 PM
The Aperture 2.0 trial isn't working yet. Just wait a bit longer.....


I really want to try it out. Maybe it will be good enough to make me switch from Lightroom. There are numerous things about the new Aperture that I like more than Lightroom and the old Aperture, so we'll see.

xUKHCx
Feb 12, 2008, 06:08 PM
The Aperture 2.0 trial isn't working yet. Just wait a bit longer.....

I really want to try it out. Maybe it will be good enough to make me switch from Lightroom. There are numerous things about the new Aperture that I like more than Lightroom and the old Aperture, so we'll see.

Working for me, I just followed the link in the second post filled in the details then downloaded from their, it was a bit slow maxing at ~55Kbs

102534

lloyd709
Feb 12, 2008, 06:43 PM
I presume I've been re-directed to a different server or something because of where I'm located - In the UK.

It's getting late here now so I'll try again tomorrow.

xUKHCx
Feb 12, 2008, 06:45 PM
I presume I've been re-directed to a different server or something because of where I'm located - In the UK.

It's getting late here now so I'll try again tomorrow.

check my location and username, i'm also from the UK.

lloyd709
Feb 12, 2008, 06:45 PM
I've just noticed xUKHCx that you are in the UK as well - can't be that then!

Grimace
Feb 12, 2008, 11:16 PM
The same garbage web page templates haven't been upgraded. But there is now a snazzy option for exports *only* to .Mac. :mad: That's crap. .Mac is great, but a lot of professional photos DON'T base their web sites on it.

tiggle
Feb 13, 2008, 12:51 AM
I have downloaded the trial version of 2, but don't seem to be able to export a file into PS3 as a nef file from my Nikon D300. Is this option available. I really like ACR for a few initial adjustments before going into PS, and so want to use use Aperture as a browser and to import photos initially.

Any suggestions for another good importer/pic browser are also welcomed.

simie
Feb 13, 2008, 02:59 AM
Here is the link to Apple's support page - manual and other references.

http://www.apple.com/support/aperture/

Digital Skunk
Feb 13, 2008, 07:39 AM
I have downloaded the trial version of 2, but don't seem to be able to export a file into PS3 as a nef file from my Nikon D300. Is this option available. I really like ACR for a few initial adjustments before going into PS, and so want to use use Aperture as a browser and to import photos initially.

Any suggestions for another good importer/pic browser are also welcomed.

If you want to do that just use Bridge. Aperture and Lightroom were designed to work as photo management/editing/toning/etc. applications so you won't be able to export NEF files to CS3. Just PSD or TIFF files after Aperture does the initial conversions.

If you are going to use ACR then Bridge is the better choice.

The same garbage web page templates haven't been upgraded. But there is now a snazzy option for exports *only* to .Mac. :mad: That's crap. .Mac is great, but a lot of professional photos DON'T base their web sites on it.

Amen Grimace. I thought the same thing as that was the biggest improvement that I wanted to see in the web output features of Aperture. But not only do you have to have .Mac (which I do) but you have to have iLife 08 (for iPhoto 08, which I don't have :mad: )

Apple is offering .Mac members $30 off of iLife 08 but WTF am I supposed to do with the other not so great applications and why didn't Apple think to make the web pages from Aperture look as good as the web galleries?

Grimace
Feb 13, 2008, 09:32 AM
I am still SO ticked about the .Mac-only export for the real web galleries. Aperture is a professional app, meaning lots of people have their own sites and aren't using .Mac.

Give me Lightroom 2.

Digital Skunk
Feb 13, 2008, 01:19 PM
I am still SO ticked about the .Mac-only export for the real web galleries. Aperture is a professional app, meaning lots of people have their own sites and aren't using .Mac.

Give me Lightroom 2.

And in all reality, I am trying to figure out a way to sync my Aperture library and edits with LR so that I can get those wonderful FLASH libraries. I will give iLife 08 and web galleries a shot but if that doesn't work the way I want it to then Box.net and LR's flash libraries may be the way to go.

Apple does a great job of giving us what we want but they always find a way to NOT give us the complete package.

tiggle
Feb 13, 2008, 08:31 PM
Thanks for the reply, as always you are very helpful digital. However, I have been trying to use Bridge, but there are problems with it and the D300 Nef files. I have downloaded the new raw plugin for it, but the problem persists. Sometimes the files are displayed, sometimes only an icon will be shown. From my search on the net, many people seem to be having this problem, and there are no replies to it on the adobe support site. Any suggestions would be appreciated.