PDA

View Full Version : Forced to Install iPhoto??




srt4cane
Feb 13, 2008, 10:54 PM
Hey guys i just started doing a clean customized install of OSX. For some reason both Garageband and iPhoto are greyed out in the screen where you select which applications to install. I guess i'll just install Garageband separately afterwards. Why is this?? Can someone please explain it because it's REALLy ticking me off.

Thanks



off in the wood
Feb 13, 2008, 10:57 PM
same thing happened when I did a clean reinstall

so I just manually deleted them.

clayj
Feb 13, 2008, 10:58 PM
Are you following the steps (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=427768) exactly as I wrote them? The installation process begins with:

1. Insert DVD.
2. Shut down MBA.
3. Restart MBA with C key held down (or Option if you're using Remote Disc).

If you run the OS X Installer without shutting down and restarting the machine, you're not doing a clean install and you won't be able to remove apps.

Oh, and you should also make sure you are using Disk Utility to repartition/reformat your drive before you install OS X. If you don't, it's not a clean install.

srt4cane
Feb 13, 2008, 11:14 PM
Well I did everything except go into Disk Utility and reformat the drive. You would think that "Clean Install" actually means a Clean install. So that's why it wouldn't let me? I don't need a separate partition so I can just skip that step correct?

clayj
Feb 13, 2008, 11:21 PM
Well I did everything except go into Disk Utility and reformat the drive. You would think that "Clean Install" actually means a Clean install. So that's why it wouldn't let me? I don't need a separate partition so I can just skip that step correct?You missed probably the most important step. :)

You have to use Disk Utility to create a new partition, which deletes the old one. This is how you get a totally clean disk on which to perform a clean install. Otherwise, you're just installing overtop of your old installation, which already contains files. OS X Installer is not going to remove files that are already there; it's only going to give you a choice of installing or not installing (and not installing does not equal removing).

HLdan
Feb 13, 2008, 11:23 PM
Well I did everything except go into Disk Utility and reformat the drive. You would think that "Clean Install" actually means a Clean install. So that's why it wouldn't let me? I don't need a separate partition so I can just skip that step correct?

Okay, so when you use the words "Clean Install" what exactly are you doing? There's nothing in the installation setup called clean install. If you actually chose to Erase and Install then that's clean and your HDD will be erased and Mac OS X will be installed.

Other options to fully erase would be from from the Disk Utility menu which is the most effective way to wipe your drive and you won't have issues choosing which parts of iLife to install. Let us know.

srt4cane
Feb 13, 2008, 11:28 PM
thanks for the quick replies guys. These are the steps ive done so far:

1- Insert disk 1
2- Shutdown and restart holding down "c"
3-Twirly thing comes up with Apple logo
4-I choose a language then continue
5-The menu says "Select a destination" and Macintosh HD is the only one available. There is also an "options" button at the bottom where i can select to install, archive and install, or erase and install.

How do i get to Disk Utility from this menu?

clayj
Feb 13, 2008, 11:29 PM
Okay, so when you use the words "Clean Install" what exactly are you doing? There's nothing in the installation setup called clean install. If you actually chose to Erase and Install then that's clean and your HDD will be erased and Mac OS X will be installed.

Other options to fully erase would be from from the Disk Utility menu which is the most effective way to wipe your drive and you won't have issues choosing which parts of iLife to install. Let us know.I totally forgot about the Erase and Install option... well pointed out!

But I still think reformatting completely by using Disk Utility to create a new partition and delete the old one is still probably the most thorough method to get a completely clean installation.

clayj
Feb 13, 2008, 11:30 PM
How do i get to Disk Utility from this menu?It's at the top of the screen.

On the Utilities menu, click Disk Utility. The Installer window will disappear and the Disk Utility window will appear.

srt4cane
Feb 13, 2008, 11:40 PM
haha thanks clayj. I just realized it about 3 minutes ago. D'oh!

Already started the install with iphoto left out.

Thanks again guys

admanimal
Feb 14, 2008, 12:06 AM
But I still think reformatting completely by using Disk Utility to create a new partition and delete the old one is still probably the most thorough method to get a completely clean installation.

Practically speaking there isn't going to be a difference in the end result whether you just do an Erase and Install or the more complicated procedure that you suggest.

HLdan
Feb 14, 2008, 12:45 AM
I totally forgot about the Erase and Install option... well pointed out!

But I still think reformatting completely by using Disk Utility to create a new partition and delete the old one is still probably the most thorough method to get a completely clean installation.

I agree, Disk Utility is the only method I use to do a full erase and install.