Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JimmyDreams

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 24, 2007
I finally ordered my :apple:TV. I decided to save some $$ and get the 40Gig version. I have about 300 movies that I'll rip and store on an external HD firewired to my iMac ....I'll just stream those and my rentals will be fairly few and far between. I really couldn't see the need for the extra $100 for 160Gig on the :apple:TV.

I have some experience with MacTheRipper and Handbrake for putting movies on my iPhone. I hope the :apple:TV will prove to be just as easy.

Thanks for all the info people have been posting here!! I feel like I made a fairly informed decision. :rolleyes:

gkarris

macrumors G3
Dec 31, 2004
"No escape from Reality...”
And you ordered one refurbed from Apple for $199?

People are saying that the refurbished ones are all new in box - Apple is trying to get rid of the ones with the older software load.

MikieMikie

macrumors 6502a
Aug 7, 2007
Newton, MA
I finally ordered my :apple:TV. I decided to save some $$ and get the 40Gig version. I have about 300 movies that I'll rip and store on an external HD firewired to my iMac ....I'll just stream those and my rentals will be fairly few and far between. I really couldn't see the need for the extra $100 for 160Gig on the :apple:TV.

I have some experience with MacTheRipper and Handbrake for putting movies on my iPhone. I hope the :apple:TV will prove to be just as easy.

Thanks for all the info people have been posting here!! I feel like I made a fairly informed decision. :rolleyes:

Great! Welcome to the :apple:TV cult. :D

JimmyDreams

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 24, 2007
And you ordered one refurbed from Apple for $199?

People are saying that the refurbished ones are all new in box - Apple is trying to get rid of the ones with the older software load.