PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone in the UK watched HD movie rentals via an HDMI/HDCP connection




bilbo--baggins
Feb 15, 2008, 11:29 AM
I've got an HD Ready (which by definition means it supports HDCP) Toshiba LCD TV, connected to the Apple TV via an HDMI cable. When I try to play an HD movie rental on the Apple TV I get the message that I don't have an HDCP connection, and that I have to use component cables.

Today I replaced my cheap HDMI cable with a new expensive one - but it made no difference. Both cables work fine except when I try to play the HD movie rental. In the About section, it shows connected via HDMI (HDCP off).

It seems there are 2 possibilities. Either HDCP isn't working with my TV (I don't have any other HDCP devices to try it with), or perhaps there is some issue using HDCP content from the US with European TV? Is HDCP intended to provide some sort of 'region' coding?



TEG
Feb 15, 2008, 11:42 AM
I've got an HD Ready (which by definition means it supports HDCP) Toshiba LCD TV, connected to the Apple TV via an HDMI cable. When I try to play an HD movie rental on the Apple TV I get the message that I don't have an HDCP connection, and that I have to use component cables.

Today I replaced my cheap HDMI cable with a new expensive one - but it made no difference. Both cables work fine except when I try to play the HD movie rental. In the About section, it shows connected via HDMI (HDCP off).

It seems there are 2 possibilities. Either HDCP isn't working with my TV (I don't have any other HDCP devices to try it with), or perhaps there is some issue using HDCP content from the US with European TV? Is HDCP intended to provide some sort of 'region' coding?

HD READY does not mean HDCP capable. HD READY means that it can support the HD resolutions. Nothing more. In the US is usually also means that it has no Digital Reciever, only analog. There has been a huge up roar here about all these HD READY sets sold that can't use the HD optical formats due to HDCP. Try connecting using component cables or a Component to SCART connector (assuming your computer has SCART).

I also was unaware of the UK having iTunes Rentals. There may be some sort of region lockout with HDCP.

TEG

Froettmaning
Feb 15, 2008, 11:52 AM
To qualify for the "HD Ready" logo in Europe, HDMI or DVI slots must support (http://www.eicta.org/web/news/telecharger.php?iddoc=242) HDCP. Not that this in any way helps the OP, I'm afraid I've no idea what the problem might be.

bilbo--baggins
Feb 15, 2008, 12:48 PM
To qualify for the "HD Ready" logo in Europe, HDMI or DVI slots must support (http://www.eicta.org/web/news/telecharger.php?iddoc=242) HDCP. Not that this in any way helps the OP, I'm afraid I've no idea what the problem might be.

Certainly on Toshiba's web site they define HD Ready as including HDCP support.

bilbo--baggins
Feb 15, 2008, 02:21 PM
I have got it working now.

Peculiarly, when I selected Check for updates, it told me there was an update available. It installed it, restarted, and I can now watch the HD movie rental!

Presumably there is no 'region lock' in HDCP which was one of my concerns.

The software version still says 2.0 interestingly, and I've seen no reports of any Apple TV software updates since the big 2.0 came out earlier this week. Perhaps it detected that something was corrupted, or maybe Apple realised a problem early on and put out a slightly different version shortly after some of us upgraded?

megfilmworks
Feb 18, 2008, 10:58 AM
I have an InFocus projector using HDMI with my ATV, and I have had to unplug it and start it back up to get rid of the HDCP warning.
After switching sources I get the warning again.
But I found a quick fix.
If I go to Settings / about and I see the HDMI (HDCP OFF)
If I menu back to Settings and then back to about it is fixed.
A lot easier than plugging and unplugging!

Fr3d
Feb 18, 2008, 03:25 PM
off topic...

How are you able to get Movie Rentals in the UK? I thought this new feature was only available in the US!

-Fred

foofan
Feb 29, 2008, 09:51 PM
I have an InFocus projector using HDMI with my ATV, and I have had to unplug it and start it back up to get rid of the HDCP warning.
After switching sources I get the warning again.
But I found a quick fix.
If I go to Settings / about and I see the HDMI (HDCP OFF)
If I menu back to Settings and then back to about it is fixed.
A lot easier than plugging and unplugging!

I'm also using infocus projector with my appletv and cannot figure out how to watch rental.

When you say you unplug it, is that the projector or appletv?

Are you still having problems?

What model projector are you using?