PDA

View Full Version : intel into a imac g4?




ibookman321
Feb 15, 2008, 09:23 PM
can you drop an intel chip into a imac g4? i dont have a mac but i was just windering, you see i am use to pc type stuff... so its probably a stupid questan... please be nice!:p;):D

thanks!



Blue Velvet
Feb 15, 2008, 09:29 PM
No, you can not. There are tons of reason why, but it all boils down to the same thing, which is 'No'.

ibookman321
Feb 15, 2008, 09:42 PM
ok thanks for the info man!:)

a104375
Feb 17, 2008, 02:24 PM
lol that would be like putting a ppc into a intel mac or a ppc into a windows computer

KurtangleTN
Feb 18, 2008, 02:41 AM
Actually not too long ago I saw a forum member here create a thread talking about putting an Intel Mac Mini in, although I forgot how it went.

g-7
Feb 18, 2008, 08:17 AM
Actually not too long ago I saw a forum member here create a thread talking about putting an Intel Mac Mini in, although I forgot how it went.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=224698

That's pity there seems no way to do it. It would be great to have a decent
2GHz/2GB Mac mini inside that gorgeous iMac G4 case... Maybe one day
someone will figure out a way. My iMac is waiting. :)

AlexisV
Feb 19, 2008, 05:23 AM
The chips fit in different sockets for a start,

The supporting north and south bridge chips are for different processor types, plus there's memoty and bus speed issues as well.

The whole architecture is different.

ibookman321
Mar 2, 2008, 11:07 AM
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=224698

That's pity there seems no way to do it. It would be great to have a decent
2GHz/2GB Mac mini inside that gorgeous iMac G4 case... Maybe one day
someone will figure out a way. My iMac is waiting. :)
that would be cool! (u can give me your g4 imac if you want!) i dont have a mac but still... I WANT A MACBOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:(

shoulin333
Mar 2, 2008, 11:23 AM
that would be cool! (u can give me your g4 imac if you want!) i dont have a mac but still... I WANT A MACBOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:(



MARKETPLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

lol

ibookman321
Mar 3, 2008, 10:01 AM
MARKETPLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

lol

credit card!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that i applyd for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!;)