PDA

View Full Version : Powerbook Problem 2




OneKiwi
Feb 16, 2008, 03:16 AM
I had what I thought was a dead PB G4 500mhz and would you believe it I was taking it apart preparing for maybe a new logicboard and just plain old tinkering
I think I reconnected something and now it works ...BUT the screen freezes with multi coloured lines vert + horiz at different times

and

It comes over like a wave of blurr freezes etc after a while normal but for not enough time to do anything

Have you got any idea whats going on, and how to solve it in the easiest, least troublesome way?



OneKiwi
Feb 16, 2008, 05:44 AM
Ive kept reading and now connected my PB to my LCD TV and the screen there is normal, no lines and no freezing, so its not the logic board right??
Thinking its in the cables.
So im gonna open her up and check the connections again.. where are the screen connectors located?
Could it be something else?

Tosser
Feb 16, 2008, 06:02 AM
I'm thinking cables too. But not the connections (plugs). I think it might be the flat flexible "wire" going to the screen is broken from flexing for so long.

OneKiwi
Feb 16, 2008, 10:21 AM
Do you know if I can change it ?
Fix it or make it better?

Tosser
Feb 16, 2008, 10:45 AM
Do you know if I can change it ?
Fix it or make it better?

I would assume you could buy one of those "bands" (I have no clue what to call them in english) from an electronics shop. But where? I really don't know, but if I were going that route, the place I would begin my search would be at www.pbfixit.com

I found this too:

http://www.angelfire.com/hero/amdpx/powerbook.htm

And this:

http://www.powerbookmedic.com/LCD-Display-Replacements-p-1-c-503.html

Tosser
Feb 16, 2008, 10:48 AM
Hmm, I found the gold-post to get you going, methinks:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1167325&tstart=45

Second post.

Jestered
Feb 16, 2008, 11:06 AM
If you are going to replace the video cable, you cannot just get a "universal" cable from an electronics shop. You have to get the cable for that computer/model.

I would first check the connections and check for bent or cracked cables first.

If you decide to replace the video cable.... it is not easy on that computer. If you have not done it before, it will be difficult. You will have to literally tear the computer completely apart. You will also have to pry the display housing apart. The display housing on that computer is pretty much glued to the display. You will have to be very careful and pry it apart. Then you will have to replace the video cable and glue the casing back together. You have to be careful about getting glue on the front of the display too.

It can be done if you are patient and prepared for a difficult repair.

GL