Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jhaspell

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2008
Hi,

I am new to Objective C and Cocoa programming and have a question which I hope can be answered in this forum. I have tried going through the Apple documentation and various Objective C references and have not been able to find the answer.

I have written a very simple program with Xcode 2.5, which recursively generates md5 checksums for all files under a given directory.

I launch the generation via a button on the GUI (generated by Interface Builder and using the standard appController).

I am trying to start my processing and then pass control back to the GUI, to allow cancelling of the current operation and other actions. Initially, when the application was single threaded, there was no way to do this - the main GUI would simply hang, waiting for the processing to finish.

So, initially, I tried creating a new thread to handle the processing, using NSThread detachNewThreadSelector. This seemed to work ok, although I was having huge problems syncing data between the 2 threads to ensure only one additional thread was started at any time. I checked a few forums about the issue and the general consensus was not to use NSThread. It was noted that most new Cocoa programmers incorrectly use NSThread, when an NSTimer would be more suited to the task.

I proceeded to write some NSTimer code to spawn off 0.5 second timer, which works fine while my main routine isn't running (at least it calls my handleTimer method, as I can see the NSLog message every 0.5 seconds). When the main routine is running, I see nothing - it is pretty CPU intensive - could it be simply that the CPU doesn't get a chance to service the timer firing. My main routine isn't class based - it is simpy a C style function with bits of Objective C in it.

I have 3 problems (and one further question):