PDA

View Full Version : How do you install Win XP w/ Parallels with no Super Drive?




BryanLyle
Feb 18, 2008, 03:13 PM
It's been a while since I installed Parallels, but will the installation of Windows XP see a superdrive that is being shared on another machine?



SilentPanda
Feb 18, 2008, 03:17 PM
I believe it shows as a mounted drive in OS X which can then be used in Parallels just like any other mounted drive.

mcvaughan
Feb 18, 2008, 04:23 PM
It's been a while since I installed Parallels, but will the installation of Windows XP see a superdrive that is being shared on another machine?

Create an ISO image of XP on the other machine you have. Then mount the ISO on your Air.

BryanLyle
Feb 18, 2008, 05:43 PM
Now there's an idea. Since I am moving this installation over from another computer, I should just be able to move the directory over. First thing I have to do is, reduce the size of it. Right now, I have it set up to be a 40gb XP "drive". I'd like to get that down to about 5 - 8gb.

Any tips on reducing the bloat that is XP ?

mcvaughan
Feb 18, 2008, 06:34 PM
Now there's an idea. Since I am moving this installation over from another computer, I should just be able to move the directory over. First thing I have to do is, reduce the size of it. Right now, I have it set up to be a 40gb XP "drive". I'd like to get that down to about 5 - 8gb.

Any tips on reducing the bloat that is XP ?

I was referring to creating an ISO image of the XP CD.

happyslayer
Feb 18, 2008, 08:02 PM
I created an ISO on my XP desktop PC, copied the ISO of the XP install CD to my MBA using a USB stick. I then mounted the ISO as a DVD drive in Parallels and did the install from there. It worked quite well. I had Parallels create an 8GB Virtual Drive and my XP install with Office is using just over half of it. For what I will need XP for, that will be plenty.

After the XP install, I went into Add/Remove programs, Windows Components and removed all the misc XP stuff... games, Accessories, etc. Also, went into msconfig and turned off many unnecesary services.

Overall, the XP load works pretty well and is actually quite speedy especially on my MBA's SSD drive.

Good Luck!