PDA

View Full Version : Macbook Pro for $1123 + shipping?




bomr2409
Feb 19, 2008, 05:22 PM
Check out this site: http://clencys.com/product_info.php?products_id=177

I myself just ordered one from Mrstich76 on eBay for $1590 (which I received perfectly fine for all of the skeptical people that have emailed me through eBay) shipped and then came across this website selling MBP's for even cheaper.

It says they are verified by Visa, Yahoo, and SecureTrading.

Looks like they may be located in Spain. I called the guy and asked how they can afford to sell them for so cheap and he told me that they bought out a company from the U.S. and can't sell them in Europe.

What do you guys think?



Enyzam
Feb 19, 2008, 05:34 PM
I'm oh so tempted, but also oh so suspicious

heatmiser
Feb 19, 2008, 05:36 PM
One of you should go for it, and report back on how it went. :D

7even
Feb 19, 2008, 05:38 PM
You know what they say - if it sounds too good to be true ...

Honestly, they can say they're verified by whoever, but they don't use any encryption on the checkout/register pages. Highly suspect.

EDIT: How about a free 65" big-screen plasma TV? http://clencys.com/product_info.php?products_id=118 :rolleyes:

senorfrog97
Feb 19, 2008, 05:40 PM
Macbook Air also $1320

yellow
Feb 19, 2008, 05:44 PM
There's no way that is legit.

Apple is mercilessly iron fisted about pricing.

And the Verified by Visa and Yahoo SSL crap, those are just pictures. If they were links that went to someplace official, maybe.

Oh, BTW, this site is suprasecure too.

http://clencys.com/images/cards/ST_Partner_logo.jpghttp://clencys.com/images/cards/yahoo.jpghttp://clencys.com/images/cards/assss.bmp

Stridder44
Feb 19, 2008, 05:46 PM
Scamasuarus Rex.

heatmiser
Feb 19, 2008, 05:47 PM
Scamasuarus Rex.

Ripofferaptor!

Mister9
Feb 19, 2008, 05:48 PM
yea the little "Sales" thing on the left popped up with a 62' DLP flat-screen TV for $0.00 so I quickly hit it and went to check out and they were only going to charge me $6.23 for shipping! Then the more information I type in the more suspicious I got so I decided to google it and it only came up with 2 matches! A little too strange for me

Enyzam
Feb 19, 2008, 05:51 PM
Yeah, and those two sites are both the site itself, haha

Consultant
Feb 19, 2008, 05:56 PM
There's no way that is legit.

Apple is mercilessly iron fisted about pricing.

And the Verified by Visa and Yahoo SSL crap, those are just pictures. If they were links that went to someplace official, maybe.

Oh, BTW, this site is suprasecure too.

http://clencys.com/images/cards/ST_Partner_logo.jpghttp://clencys.com/images/cards/yahoo.jpghttp://clencys.com/images/cards/assss.bmp

Oh I guess AK Kitty is for sale on this secure site? I like to order one. Oh it's free, but $5.99 in shipping only?

All I have to provide is my name, credit card number, social security number, mother's maiden name, and her credit card number?

=p

Anyway, that site is a scam.

ethernet76
Feb 19, 2008, 06:02 PM
How can you go wrong with a site that was registered this year?

(It's a scam)

I don't do business with companies that have a site expiration date of one year from when it was bought.

Chances are if it's been around for less than a year and they only leased the name for one year it's a scam.

It also looks like it's based out of Australia. And sending money overseas for eBay is always a winner.

yellow
Feb 20, 2008, 08:06 AM
Now, the question become (for me) is the OP legit or is this spam?

Currently, I am leaning a little bit towards spam, but only a little bit.

hockeysc23
Feb 20, 2008, 08:10 AM
You get what you pay for. I would be cautious when everyone sells macs for a certain price and someone else is way below and from another country.

lexlix
Feb 20, 2008, 08:31 AM
if they bought the company to retail, why would they discount so much when the market allows for a higher profit. if they bought a us company and is liquidating their inventory, taking into account the amount of time takeovers occur and when the air was released and shipped, it's unlikely that a realistic scenario would leave them with an unwanted inventory of airs.

Mr Maui
Feb 20, 2008, 08:43 AM
You know what they say - if it sounds too good to be true ...

Honestly, they can say they're verified by whoever, but they don't use any encryption on the checkout/register pages. Highly suspect.

EDIT: How about a free 65" big-screen plasma TV? http://clencys.com/product_info.php?products_id=118 :rolleyes:

Or a 62" 1080P DLP?

http://clencys.com/product_info.php?products_id=137

Or a 71" Rear Projection DLP?

http://clencys.com/product_info.php?products_id=120

What a scam!!

BaronvdB
Feb 20, 2008, 08:50 AM
scam!

aneftp
Feb 20, 2008, 08:51 AM
Is that price in Dollars, Pounds, or Euros? It has the US Dollar sign $1123 but it has the Great Britain and Spanish flag.

I bet when you eventually get charged, they will charge you in pounds.

Mr Maui
Feb 20, 2008, 08:55 AM
Is that price in Dollars, Pounds, or Euros? It has the US Dollar sign $1123 but it has the Great Britain and Spanish flag.

I bet when you eventually get charged, they will charge you in pounds.

Anyone who enters anything on that site is an idiot!