PDA

View Full Version : DTS/Dolby Digital Handbrake




markfc
Feb 20, 2008, 09:02 AM
Excuse my ignorance, I have a few DVD's with both Dolby Digital and DTS Soundtracks.

Can I choose which 5.1 Soundtrack to encode or is this fixed by handbrake?

Cheers



Avatar74
Feb 20, 2008, 09:14 AM
Excuse my ignorance, I have a few DVD's with both Dolby Digital and DTS Soundtracks.

Can I choose which 5.1 Soundtrack to encode or is this fixed by handbrake?

Cheers

Handbrake only supports Dolby Digital (AC-3). DTS (APTX-100) is an entirely different format, a different methodology, and is not supported.

Fergster
Feb 20, 2008, 09:39 AM
The new release has just been announced which will support 5.1 :

http://www.123macmini.com/news/story/889.html

markfc
Feb 20, 2008, 09:50 AM
Handbrake only supports Dolby Digital (AC-3). DTS (APTX-100) is an entirely different format, a different methodology, and is not supported.

Cool nice easy answer, that's for the swift support. Here's to a few weeks of re-encoding!!

dynaflash
Feb 20, 2008, 11:43 AM
If using the new HandBrake AAC + AC3 mixdown for the appleTV, you will get an aac dpl2 mixdown if you select a DTS source soundtrack. AC3 is passthru and can *only* passthru an AC3 source.

ntrigue
Feb 20, 2008, 12:08 PM
If using the new HandBrake AAC + AC3 mixdown for the appleTV, you will get an aac dpl2 mixdown if you select a DTS source soundtrack. AC3 is passthru and can *only* passthru an AC3 source.

:O boy am I out of the loop!