PDA

View Full Version : Cant start my new FTP server




Woien
Feb 20, 2008, 05:04 PM
Have 10.5.2 and Rumpus ftp server, but I cant start it becouse it says that I allready have a FTP server running, when I look its not so.

What to do??



ChrisA
Feb 20, 2008, 05:35 PM
Have 10.5.2 and Rumpus ftp server, but I cant start it becouse it says that I allready have a FTP server running, when I look its not so.

What to do??

Given all the info you've given us to go on, my reaction is to believe the error message and assume you do have the standard Apple ftpd running. How do you know it is not?

What happens when you try to telnet into the FTP port on Local host?

Woien
Feb 20, 2008, 10:34 PM
I am sorry, but yes its the built in FTP that is running.
Problem is how do I shut it down, becouse its turned of in server admin under services.
Is there any "hard" turn of or how should i do?

pezza
Feb 21, 2008, 03:53 AM
Take a look in activity monitor, is the ftp service showing under the list of processes? I so run the kill command on this process from terminal.

ChrisA
Feb 21, 2008, 10:55 PM
I am sorry, but yes its the built in FTP that is running.
Problem is how do I shut it down, becouse its turned of in server admin under services.
Is there any "hard" turn of or how should i do?

Change the name of the executable file from "ftpd" to maybe
"ftpd-DO.NOT.RUN".
Crude but likely effective. If this were Linux or Solaris I'd know more about the boot up process and how things get started. But the re-name the binary trick is fool proof on any system