PDA

View Full Version : iphone wifi not working with home network




nadleeh
Feb 22, 2008, 11:54 AM
hi guys, im new to this forum! i bought my iphone quite some time ago and i up until now, i cant seem to get my wifi working at home. the iphone shows that im connected to the home network but i cant surf the internet through wifi because it says it cant find the server. i checked my settings already and found out that its because the iphone has been reading a wrong ip address from the home network. anyone has any idea how to help? please advice. i tried googling for it before but to no avail. please help



Pennine
Feb 22, 2008, 11:57 AM
hi guys, im new to this forum! i bought my iphone quite some time ago and i up until now, i cant seem to get my wifi working at home. the iphone shows that im connected to the home network but i cant surf the internet through wifi because it says it cant find the server. i checked my settings already and found out that its because the iphone has been reading a wrong ip address from the home network. anyone has any idea how to help? please advice. i tried googling for it before but to no avail. please help

same here please help us

aross99
Feb 22, 2008, 12:19 PM
What do you mean the iPhone has been reading a wrong IP address?

Do you have other computers that are working on your wireless connection?

Maui
Feb 22, 2008, 12:22 PM
I would delete the network entirely (on your iPhone) and start over.

Settings > Wi-Fi > [Network Name] > Forget this Network.

Or, you should at least try the Renew Lease option. Just push the little blue arrow to the right of the network name and look for the button.

Pennine
Feb 22, 2008, 12:26 PM
What do you mean the iPhone has been reading a wrong IP address?

Do you have other computers that are working on your wireless connection?

Yes 1 other lap top (PC)

aross99
Feb 22, 2008, 01:20 PM
So do you only have one computer accessing the internet?

Maybe you have a Modem and not a Router. You need a router to be able to have more than one computer access the net at a time...

Do you know if you have a router?

dj420118
Feb 22, 2008, 04:35 PM
I had this happening but i kept losing the connection instead of not having internet in the first place...this iphone sure is tricky

ChrisN
Feb 22, 2008, 04:37 PM
I had the same problem(I think) I changed the password type from something to ASics or something. try that.

ChrisN

nadleeh
Feb 22, 2008, 11:13 PM
yea i have more than 1 computer. im definitely running on a router and not a modem. i tried forgetting the network and trying to connect to it again, i tried renewing lease, nothing seems to work.

aross99
Feb 23, 2008, 10:34 AM
Is your router locked down by MAC address? if so, you need to add your iPhone to the access list to allow access.

rtc05
Feb 26, 2008, 02:07 PM
same issue worked 3 days ago 2 computers working wireless i called iphone tech we tried everything im reading the right ip adree but cant find server connects to the router but not the net

nehemiascr
Mar 17, 2008, 07:53 PM
Hi, I have the same problem. I have an apple airport extreme n router, I have 3 laptops connected to this network with WPA/WPA2 password, 2 iphones connected to this network also, and one iphone doesn't work, it worked for 3 days and after that, stop working. It worked with the firmware 1.1.3 and suddenly stop working, then, I upgraded it to 1.1.4 and it didn't fix the problem, I tried Renew Lease, didn't work. Forget this network, didn't work. and the problem is only with one iphone, not with both.

scottytico
Apr 19, 2008, 12:49 AM
I, too, have 7 computers on my network and 2 iPhones. One iPhone worked great for 2 days. Then, for whatever reason, I can't connect to the wireless network today. It shows that I'm connected in the settings, but it doesn't show on the top left and there is no IP address populated when I select the blue arrow button to the right of the name of the wireless connection that has a blue checkmark next to it. I see that nobody has been answering these posts, so I'm not sure why I'm writing this -- other than hoping like crazy someone knows what's going on. I sure don't!

billabong
Jul 10, 2008, 08:10 PM
Have you found a fix for this?

I have an Airport Express with 1 Mac, 1 AppleTV and 1 iPhone using the network. The iPhone works 50% of the time, which is starting to get really annoying. It just keeps on saying "Can't find the server" anyone have advice of this?

Tellegrand
Jul 18, 2008, 02:37 PM
Anyone any ideas on this? We have the exact same problem.... three computers and two iphones wireless on a airport. We both have had no problems getting wireless on the phones for over a year, but after the 2.0 upgrades one works great the other not at all. VERY frustrating!!

andyhofer
Jul 19, 2008, 08:09 AM
I have the same problem, my network is recognised with a tick next to the wifi. I have tried everything including forgetting this connection, rebooting the iPhone. I have other Macs and PCs on the wireless router network that work with no problems.

I can't get connections to any other networks either, tried Costa coffee and Cloud at my local O2 shop and still couldn't get a wifi connection.:mad:

The guy in the O2 store tried but with no success, he said call O2 customer support. So got home and called them, after having gone thru all the steps they came up with the opinion that I have a faulty device and I should return to the apple shop to get it looked at. :eek:
The first thing they said I should do is get the apple store to try my sim in another iPhone to see if it makes a difference. :confused:

If anyone has any ideas that would be great...

jettrue
Aug 20, 2008, 07:59 PM
Another one with issues of 1 iphone working, 1 not. My husband's iphone has decided it doesn't like WIFI. We noticed the issue when we went to a friend's house, and my iphone happily connected, and his didn't. Back at home, both our iphones connected to wifi on our home network. Out of the home, only mine worked.

Then, we got a new router, and I thought, UH-OH, what if after everything is set up, his phone won't connect to WIFI. Sure enough, his won't connect, mine will. Same settings!

It shows the WIFI bars for a few seconds, then goes to the edge symbol. I had my husband install boss prefs which shows that Wifi is connected, to some WEIRD ip address, that has nothing to do with our home network or ISP.

I'm wondering if the iphone is "stuck" trying some previous IP address for all new connections?

omaruk
Aug 28, 2008, 05:23 AM
same issue 2 iPhones one not connecting, tried reset network settings etc no joy. Try this found the solution elsewhere have yet to try as my wife has the problem phone with her

"I initially had trouble connecting to my home wifi network and when I did a few Google searches I saw a few people mentioning that it was a DNS issue on the iPhone.

After connecting to my wifi network I went into the network settings and deleted the values in the DNS field under DHCP and entered a known good DNS server like one of the the ones from OpenDNS <dot> com. I entered 208.67.222.222 and all the problems went away."

omaruk
Aug 28, 2008, 01:20 PM
DNS fix did not do it. Any other ideas?

Kinaiahi
Aug 29, 2008, 02:07 AM
Same problem here. Mine worked fine for about a month, then all of a sudden stopped working today. Everything else is fine, just get the "Server stopped responding" message every time I use wifi in my house. Tried deleting the network, renewing the lease etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Never mind. I just reset my modem and router and reset my network settings on my phone and it's working again.

jaggunothing
Aug 29, 2008, 09:23 AM
Have you tried opening the wifi>network>fixed ip and setting another IP/DNS etc there.

It worked for me, i have 2 connections one with dynamic IP and that used to work with just password. The second one with fixed IP and DNS, i had to manually correct all the entries and now both work like a charm.

angusangus
Mar 8, 2009, 12:03 PM
After 5 months without wifi on my iphone ever since I used ziphone to unlock my iphone, I finally figuered it out and fix it, here is what I did in summary after many different attempts(tried every solution from online post), here is my 2009 stimulus package for my iphone:

1. I restored to 2.2.1(5H11) firmware and use Quickpwn to unlock it.
2. wifi still not connecting correctly? I reset the "network settings" on iphone, if not work, I set my wireless router to no encryption, then reset iphone "network seetings" again and again until it sticks to wifi connection. First it didn't stick 100%, it was like on and off periodically.
3. Goto "Cydia" downloaded tool call "BossPrefs"
4. Goto app "BossPrefs" turn off the "edge" and keep the wifi. At current stage the wifi still drop connection periodically.
5. Restart wireless router(no encryption still) and reset my iphone "network settings". Go to "BossPrefs" to turn off edge again and keep the wifi because "BossPrefs" reset itself. Now I saw the connection persists.
6. Restart my wifi wireless router and set it to wpa or wpa2 encryption.
7. Reset my iphone "network settings" again(it's a pain but it helps) and type in the password for wifi and a miracle happened, wifi sticks, no more dropped connections, I can even use youtube on my iphone again and leave my itouch collecting dust.
8. I then go to iphone "Cydia" and downloaded half of the ring tone on my iphone and tried it out...awesome!

step43a2jc
Feb 3, 2010, 08:36 AM
Guys, is it possible to change my IP address in my iPhone? cause the default IP address is wrong so i wanted to change it. will it be possible?

bbwolf
Apr 28, 2010, 02:48 PM
hey guys joined the forum to answer this thread. i had the same problem with my iphone. i was trying to sinc with a comic collector program and it couldn't find the iphone. checked the ip and low and behold i got this huge monstrosity that was no where near the same as my pc ip. guess how i fixed it? come on guess. il wait............... ok ok. POWER CYCLE THE ROUTER!!! unplug the routers power cord for about 30 sec and plug it back in. it will force the iphone to reconnect with the router or just provide it with the correct ip address. hope this works for you.

wolf out:cool:

clonergan
Jun 14, 2010, 09:25 PM
I just got my Iphone 4 days ago and didn't realize I wasn't automatically using my home wifi after downloading a million apps and geting a text from ATT saying i used up 145 of my 200MB already. I went to this forum and tried everything and the only thing that worked was to change the IP address.

Here is how I did it:
1.Go to settings
2. Click on the blue arrow next to your wifi network
3. choose Static
4. Enter your IP address, router and DNS (you should be able to get this from your computer, if not call your internet provider)
5. click on the wifi network button at the top left
6. Make sure the ASk to join networks button is OFF

Wait 2-3 minutes and it should work, if not try putting you phone in airplane mode then on again.

I hope this helps you

mykairi3507
Jun 15, 2010, 03:08 AM
I have been trying to hook up my iphone to my clear home internet and it still does the same thing, everytime i try to connect it brings me up to a login site and tells me that my clear network cannot find a W.A.N device on my iphone, i have done and talked to everybody and they say the same thing everytime, talked to the other guy and it gets me nowhere, please somone help me :confused:

ianne
Jun 15, 2010, 06:06 AM
Have you tried resetting the Links entirely? Sometimes there's an obscure setting in there that causes problems, and a reset, wipe, and reboot, followed by reentering your network info, will cure it.
Try to rename the network, too, when you do that, just in case the problem's lodged in the iPhone somewhere -- so if you use a different network name, the iPhone will be forced to start refreshing with the settings.









_______________
The TechGeek deals] (http://www.phonesunwired.com/Coupons/TheTechGeek.html)

jhuffman64
Jun 21, 2010, 09:45 PM
I have had the same issue for a few weeks, I just restart the router and it's good for a couple weeks or so. Must getting bad stacks.

TheGreenMonster
Jul 11, 2010, 08:30 PM
My wifi was not working at all on my 2G. It couldn't even scan for networks. Sometimes wifi was even greyed out.

This is how i fixed all my wifi problems:

1. I took the case off the phone and located the the big metal plate that covers the IC's on the main circuit board.

2. Located the wifi chipset, which mine said Marvell on it. (google it if you dont know)

3. Reflowed the Marvell chipset on it at 300 degress C for 10 sec, moving in a small circular pattern as close as you can get it without touching. I was using a air flow setting of 3 with a small air nozzle on it.

4. Let rest for 5-10min without touching.

5. Reassembled iphone and BLAM....Everything is working like a charm!!

TheGreenMonster
Jul 11, 2010, 08:31 PM
My wifi was not working at all on my 2G. It couldn't even scan for networks. Sometimes wifi was even greyed out.

This is how i fixed all my wifi problems:

1. I took the case off the phone and located the the big metal plate that covers the IC's on the main circuit board.

2. Located the wifi chipset, which mine said Marvell on it. (google it if you dont know)

3. Reflowed the Marvell chipset on it at 300 degress C for 10 sec, moving in a small circular pattern as close as you can get it without touching. I was using a air flow setting of 3 with a small air nozzle on it.

4. Let rest for 5-10min without touching.

5. Reassembled iphone and BLAM....Everything is working like a charm!!

sweeny68
Jul 24, 2010, 01:41 PM
Thanks bbwolf that worked for me! Who knew it would be so simple after messing around trying to fix this for days!

batoman
Jul 28, 2010, 10:13 PM
Just make sure DHCP is selected in your WiFi connection on the iPhone

Kalabunga12
Aug 15, 2010, 09:55 PM
All you have to do is make sure that the ip addresses on the phone and the computer are the same mine was off by 2 and that's why it wouldn't connect.

All I did was go to static and copy all the things like the ip address from your computer and the subnet mask other than that you can copy the other things from the first menu when you click on the network (DHCP) right next to BooTP which is right next to Static. After I made sure everything was correct I gave my phone a few seconds to process the changes and (eventually) viola connected. Who knew it was that easy, YES FACETIME AGAIN!!!!!

SimpleServe
Aug 25, 2010, 11:05 PM
TheGreenMonster is correct.

I used an oven on my 3G because I decided that if the solder joints are bad in one area, they're bad everywhere. Here's a YT vid http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1azZWWkmSg

And here's the written version http://www.iphonetiquicia.com/iphone-wifi-oven-trick/

However, I like TheGreenMonster's method for other people because it's more precise.

Trimmer
Sep 2, 2010, 05:51 AM
while abroad: iPhone will not connect to wifi that allows iMac and other devices using the same key ... I have been through endless support calls and eventually my iPhone was replaced ... the same problem remains!!

Further: I cannot connect to wifi in most open zones (no key required) I get told my data roaming is off and I should use wifi :-/ Good signal and the IP address is the self set 169.... variety

This only happens with my iPhone when I am in Spain - it works fine in the UK in all wifi situations

any thoughts??

tried static settings on the home router
tried complete restore under a different name

rob james
Oct 14, 2010, 10:03 AM
The problem appears to be where multiple machines or devices are using the same router. The iPhone 3GS assigned an IP Address in order of preference, therefore 192.175.1.1 and then 192.175.1.2 etc. The iPhone 4 will assign a strange IP address which the router will not accept. You therefore need to look at the other devices linked and see what number is next in the sequence. Then go to static on the top tab and type in the IP adress manually followed by the Subnet mask, router and DNS details. Once you have completed the info press the DHCP button and HTTP Proxy as off. When you then try to link it will ask for your pass word and should then work. Good luck it took me around a month to figure this out!!!!

xpressyrself
Nov 13, 2010, 04:07 AM
There are 2 x 3Gs iPhones that cannot connect to our router with access control enabled. I know that the MAC addresses are correct in the router because I had the access control disabled, selected the relevant devices, and clicked 'Add' but when we re-enable the access control both the devices are disconnected.

This has nothing to do with jail-breaking because none of the phones have had anything like that done.

This problem only started happening after the iPhone 4.x software updates, all the other iPhones in the house running iPhone 3.x are connecting to the router without any problems when the access control is enabled.

Battlestar
Nov 13, 2010, 09:25 AM
Have you tried setting a DHCP Reservation in the router for the iPhone?

xpressyrself
Nov 13, 2010, 10:50 PM
Have you tried setting a DHCP Reservation in the router for the iPhone?

Thank you.

This advice worked for me but it still shouldn't have to be done that way. Apple have obviously screwed something up in the iPhone 4.x software. It might be fixed with 4.2 at the end of November.

remoteONE
Nov 17, 2010, 05:07 AM
I had this same issue on 3.1.2.
turns out it was simply that I was entering the wrong password .
The iphone pretended to be connected with no alert of incorrect password and showing the signal strength and tick that indicates its connected.

It would give me an wifi ip address of 169.256.xxx.211 or something instead of 192.168.1.100 .and not connect.
as soon as i entered correct pwd the correct ip showed.
I think this is Apples idea of fun.!

pbpaul01
Dec 29, 2010, 12:23 PM
hi guys, im new to this forum! i bought my iphone quite some time ago and i up until now, i cant seem to get my wifi working at home. the iphone shows that im connected to the home network but i cant surf the internet through wifi because it says it cant find the server. i checked my settings already and found out that its because the iphone has been reading a wrong ip address from the home network. anyone has any idea how to help? please advice. i tried googling for it before but to no avail. please help

This is how i fixed the wifi problem...(i used my mac)
So basicly I created a new WiFi hotspot on my iMac, then I connected my iphone to it and it WORKS!
1. open System Preferences (Apple -> System Preferences) and click Sharing.
2. select Internet Sharing at the left side.
3. Then check off AirPort.
4. Then creat a newtwork name, and password
5. VOILA! look at the Wifi connections on your iPhone and it should be there!

(IF YOU HAD ANY PROBLEMS GO TO THIS LINK..
http://maketecheasier.com/create-wifi-hotspot-using-mac-os-x/2009/10/20
THIS SITE SHOWS YOU HOW TO SET IT UP)

monu
Mar 10, 2011, 09:50 PM
just reboot ur modem/router....and voila!!!!:)

suebeauchamp
Apr 30, 2011, 06:26 AM
I just got my Iphone 4 days ago and didn't realize I wasn't automatically using my home wifi after downloading a million apps and geting a text from ATT saying i used up 145 of my 200MB already. I went to this forum and tried everything and the only thing that worked was to change the IP address.

Here is how I did it:
1.Go to settings
2. Click on the blue arrow next to your wifi network
3. choose Static
4. Enter your IP address, router and DNS (you should be able to get this from your computer, if not call your internet provider)
5. click on the wifi network button at the top left
6. Make sure the ASk to join networks button is OFF

Wait 2-3 minutes and it should work, if not try putting you phone in airplane mode then on again.

I hope this helps you

Superb response, worked for me first time...thanks Clonergan

valeria87
Jun 6, 2011, 01:27 PM
I just got my Iphone 4 days ago and didn't realize I wasn't automatically using my home wifi after downloading a million apps and geting a text from ATT saying i used up 145 of my 200MB already. I went to this forum and tried everything and the only thing that worked was to change the IP address.

Here is how I did it:
1.Go to settings
2. Click on the blue arrow next to your wifi network
3. choose Static
4. Enter your IP address, router and DNS (you should be able to get this from your computer, if not call your internet provider)
5. click on the wifi network button at the top left
6. Make sure the ASk to join networks button is OFF

Wait 2-3 minutes and it should work, if not try putting you phone in airplane mode then on again.

I hope this helps you

i have tried this also. the wifi signal pops up for a second but then turns back to Edge :(
my wifi was working just fine till last night (i tried to use a new wifi spot away from home) and then when i got home it wouldn't connect. well it says its connected but no wifi signal and will not let me access the internet. i have tried respringing, resetting network settings, disconnecting and reconnecting to my wifi, turning on n off router but nothing helps

rocketboy66
Aug 18, 2011, 07:03 AM
I had the same problem. The wifi network appears on the iPhone, and it claims to be connected, but cannot be used as the iPhone doesn't get allocated a valid IP address on the network. I have an iPhone 4 and an extreme base station. After many resets and following suggestions on various forums, nothing worked.
It appears that the problem is that the Airport Extreme is failing to correctly allocate a private IP address to the iPhone using DHCP - an automated connection protocol. No idea why this isn't working, it ought to be straight forward - possibly a bug in the latest iPhone iOS?
The way I solved it was to use the Airport Utility to change the connection setting on the airport Extreme from automatic allocation of IP addresses, to only allocating a range of IP addresses from 2 to 200.
On the iPhone I then change from DHCP to Manual and set the IP address to xxx.xxx.xxx.201 (where the x's are the private IP address range chosen by Airport Utility). If needed, another device could be set to 202 etc.
All very ugly, sorry, but at least it works if nothing else does. Best of luck. I hope Apple finds out why it is happening and fixes it, it seems a lot of people are also struggling with this.

----------

I had the same problem. The wifi network appears on the iPhone, and it claims to be connected, but cannot be used as the iPhone doesn't get allocated a valid IP address on the network. I have an iPhone 4 and an extreme base station. After many resets and following suggestions on various forums, nothing worked.
It appears that the problem is that the Airport Extreme is failing to correctly allocate a private IP address to the iPhone using DHCP - an automated connection protocol. No idea why this isn't working, it ought to be straight forward - possibly a bug in the latest iPhone iOS?
The way I solved it was to use the Airport Utility to change the connection setting on the airport Extreme from automatic allocation of IP addresses, to only allocating a range of IP addresses from 2 to 200.
On the iPhone I then change from DHCP to Manual and set the IP address to xxx.xxx.xxx.201 (where the x's are the private IP address range chosen by Airport Utility). If needed, another device could be set to 202 etc.
All very ugly, sorry, but at least it works if nothing else does. Best of luck. I hope Apple finds out why it is happening and fixes it, it seems a lot of people are also struggling with this.

Lily'sPad
Aug 27, 2011, 04:51 AM
Same problem, but none of the above worked for me. Finally went to Settings/ General/ Reset/ Reset network settings. Saw this in a different thread.

Adamxl40
Sep 5, 2012, 02:44 PM
Did as Clonergan post suggested.

Went to Settings: Network: Wi-Fi; selected arrow next to my wi fi address and entered a Static IP.

Selected a static IP address from the range shown on my router 912.168.0.12.
Entered Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0 (shown in router settings)
Entered router IP 192.168.0.1 (shown in router settings)
and DNS address from router settings; (shown in router settings)

Exited settings - CONNECTED AND FASTER than before !!

Yip ! Yip!

Just hope it continues to work.

Had tried all other ideas - none worked. Did not alter any router settings.