PDA

View Full Version : HQ settings on HB 0.9.2...




smilinmonki666
Feb 22, 2008, 12:41 PM
Whats your setttings on HB 0.9.2, I'm trying to find a like for like quality for my ripps but struggling to find a good quality setting...

Whats yours & why have you set them options to what they are?



mindcrash
Feb 22, 2008, 12:46 PM
I start with the :apple:TV preset and add the following:

64 Bit MP4
2-pass encoding
Turbo first pass
Change the bitrate to 3,000

That's about it. These look better than my SD DVD player on my 32" Sharp Aquos using HDMI.

I upped the bitrate to 3,000 because I would like a little better quality since we can now exceed 4GB.

smilinmonki666
Feb 22, 2008, 12:48 PM
So if I use the 64bit mp4 it will not break :apple:TV compatibility? What if I up the bit rate to 3500Kbps or 4000Kbps??

Also, what file type do you save it as for the :apple:TV???

sJv
Feb 22, 2008, 12:53 PM
So if I use the 64bit mp4 it will not break :apple:TV compatibility? What if I up the bit rate to 3500Kbps or 4000Kbps??

Also, what file type do you save it as for the :apple:TV???

ATV supports 64 bit files. There is diminishing returns somewhere around 2500 to 3000KBps. I would encode a high quality action movie at 2000, 2500, 3000, and 3500 and see for yourself where this point is.

If you select the ATV preset, it will save the file as a .m4v file, which is what you want.

-steve

smilinmonki666
Feb 22, 2008, 12:56 PM
Cool, i'm trying this out now. Cheers guys.

Would be nice to have them at a HQ setting so I don't compress them any more than I need to.

sJv
Feb 22, 2008, 12:59 PM
Cool, i'm trying this out now. Cheers guys.

Would be nice to have them at a HQ setting so I don't compress them any more than I need to.

I have found that the default 2500Kbps setting is indistinguishable from DVD on my 100" projector and my friends 55 inch HD mitsubishi LCD rear projector. I actually drop the rate to 2000Kbps for older movies and things like comedies, and they still look about as good as DVD.

-steve

Roy Hobbs
Feb 22, 2008, 01:37 PM
I start with the :apple:TV preset and add the following:

64 Bit MP4
2-pass encoding
Turbo first pass
Change the bitrate to 3,000

That's about it. These look better than my SD DVD player on my 32" Sharp Aquos using HDMI.

I upped the bitrate to 3,000 because I would like a little better quality since we can now exceed 4GB.

Is this with 5.1 as well?? If so how big are these files?

roland.g
Feb 22, 2008, 01:39 PM
I did some tests and starting of course with Apple TV preset and then changing it AC3 audio only, 2 pass turbo 1st pass, I changed the bitrate to 1500. I have done tests at 2000 and 2500 and none of the higher bitrates look any better streaming or synced to my Apple TV on a 46" Samsung DLP via component in and audio optical.

*I currently have my DVD player on my HDMI -> DVI input (the samsung has only component and dvi in, no hdmi which is fine since I use optical for the audio directly into my receiver).

papagrande
Feb 22, 2008, 02:28 PM
ATV supports 64 bit files. There is diminishing returns somewhere around 2500 to 3000KBps. I would encode a high quality action movie at 2000, 2500, 3000, and 3500 and see for yourself where this point is.

If you select the ATV preset, it will save the file as a .m4v file, which is what you want.

-steve

I am pretty sure that while atv will support the 64 bit file, if you file is bigger than 4 gigs (hello LOTR trilogy) it will not sync with atv. Just a note to remember to watch out for the final size.

papa

mindcrash
Feb 22, 2008, 02:31 PM
I am pretty sure that while atv will support the 64 bit file, if you file is bigger than 4 gigs (hello LOTR trilogy) it will not sync with atv. Just a note to remember to watch out for the final size.

papa

It seems to stream just fine though....is this anyone else's experience?

roland.g
Feb 22, 2008, 02:33 PM
I am pretty sure that while atv will support the 64 bit file, if you file is bigger than 4 gigs (hello LOTR trilogy) it will not sync with atv. Just a note to remember to watch out for the final size.

papa

I have then extended editions and rip them as they were original written. Book 1, Book 2, Book 3 through Book 6. Remember Fellowship is actually Book 1 and Book 2. I don't assemble the 2 disc movie into a single file.

mindcrash
Feb 22, 2008, 02:46 PM
I have then extended editions and rip them as they were original written. Book 1, Book 2, Book 3 through Book 6. Remember Fellowship is actually Book 1 and Book 2. I don't assemble the 2 disc movie into a single file.

I've been stitching them together w/VisualHub. Tested Fellowship last night and it streamed fine with a file size over 4GB. But like I said, I don't sync anything to the unit itself.

papagrande
Feb 22, 2008, 02:49 PM
I have then extended editions and rip them as they were original written. Book 1, Book 2, Book 3 through Book 6. Remember Fellowship is actually Book 1 and Book 2. I don't assemble the 2 disc movie into a single file.


Great idea! I was just going to have mine as fotr part1 , fotr part 2 etc...

I was not trying to confuse anyone. But over at the handbrake forums they state :
You can go over 4GB but you must use the 64-bit option (which will make it incompatible with the AppleTV.

I just wanted to give a bit of a warning as I would not want my fellow enthusiast to go to all the trouble of ripping a movie that would not play on their atv.'

papa

mindcrash, it may have to do with syncing vs streaming. I am just learning.

bacaramac
Feb 22, 2008, 03:02 PM
Hey guys, read this thread. It is stated that ATV 2.0 now works with 64bit option.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=438121&page=2

cohibadad
Feb 22, 2008, 03:16 PM
You can go over 4GB but you must use the 64-bit option (which will make it incompatible with the AppleTV.

64 bit isn't compatible with :apple:TV but it is with :apple:TV2. Dynaflash updated the warning and took the preferences option out of the latest build.

Jeff Hall
Feb 22, 2008, 03:34 PM
You should also use the preview mode to decide if you need to de-interlace. I pretty much just always de-interlace with "slower" mode.