PDA

View Full Version : Jerky video from Handbrake 9.2

toddngina
Feb 22, 2008, 06:47 PM
I'm new to handbrake and ripping DVDs, but am getting ready for an Apple TV. I tried converting 40 Year Old Virgin, but after converting using the Apple TV preset, I noticed the video playback on my computer appears slightly jerky at times. It must be encoded that way, because the same jerkiness appears no matter what size screen I view the scenes at - it doesn't appear to be playback hardware related. What could be causing this? I'm running on a Windows machine, and am converting from DVDs that are copies of DVDs that I own, with some slight compression from DVDFab. The DVDs play fine. Any suggestions? Frame rate issues?

Thanks

FreeState
Feb 22, 2008, 06:58 PM
I'm new to handbrake and ripping DVDs, but am getting ready for an Apple TV. I tried converting 40 Year Old Virgin, but after converting using the Apple TV preset, I noticed the video playback on my computer appears slightly jerky at times. It must be encoded that way, because the same jerkiness appears no matter what size screen I view the scenes at - it doesn't appear to be playback hardware related. What could be causing this? I'm running on a Windows machine, and am converting from DVDs that are copies of DVDs that I own, with some slight compression from DVDFab. The DVDs play fine. Any suggestions? Frame rate issues?

Thanks

What type of processor does your PC have? .m4v/.mp4 files are very processor intence...

toddngina
Feb 22, 2008, 07:14 PM
I've got a Mobile Pentium 4 3.06 GHz and 1 GB of RAM. Turbo pass right now is giving me about 18 FPS. A bit slow, but seems to be working.

FreeState
Feb 22, 2008, 07:27 PM
I've got a Mobile Pentium 4 3.06 GHz and 1 GB of RAM. Turbo pass right now is giving me about 18 FPS. A bit slow, but seems to be working.