View Full Version : e-mail,free macbook air for US residents
Neil321
Feb 23, 2008, 07:20 PM
Keep getting this mail,wondered if any of you US people no about this as live
in UK or is it too good to be true?
EDIT the above was probably worded wrong im not that gullible,the words "is it to good to be true"
has been taken in the wrong context im not after buying a MBA
http://letsnotpostthatthanks.com
Eraserhead
Feb 23, 2008, 07:22 PM
Its a scam
Eric Lewis
Feb 23, 2008, 07:23 PM
Keep getting this mail,wondered if any of you US people no about this as live
in UK or is it too good to be true?
http://letsnotpostthatthanks.com
please take ur spam away
sushi
Feb 23, 2008, 07:25 PM
The banner at the top says:
Free MacBook Air.
Right below is this text:
With completion of Program Requirements. Must Participate in Sponsor Offers.†
Below are these remarks:
† Various types of sponsor offers are available. Completion of sponsor offers most often requires a purchase or filing a credit application and being accepted for a financial product such as a credit card or consumer loan. Participants must be residents of the United States and at least 18 years of age in order to be eligible for the program. Failure to submit accurate registration information will result in loss of eligibility. This promotion is administered solely by this website. The manufacturers and retailers of the gift items offered through our programs have not endorsed this promotion and are not affiliated with the promotion in anyway. All trademarks, service marks, logos, and/or domain names (including the names of products and retailers) are property of their respective owners. This promotion is not valid to residents of Ohio and is void where prohibited by law.
Looks like one of those programs where they get you to do things for them by dangling the carrot (the MBA) and then do not deliver based upon a technicality.
Or in other words, a modern say scam.
Neil321
Feb 23, 2008, 07:28 PM
Its a scam
Thought as much,just wanted to see what happens when you enter a zip
code,anyone one else been getting them as im being bombarded with them
iwebhelpme
Feb 23, 2008, 07:29 PM
The banner at the top says:
Free MacBook Air.
Right below is this text:
With completion of Program Requirements. Must Participate in Sponsor Offers.†
Below are these remarks:
† Various types of sponsor offers are available. Completion of sponsor offers most often requires a purchase or filing a credit application and being accepted for a financial product such as a credit card or consumer loan. Participants must be residents of the United States and at least 18 years of age in order to be eligible for the program. Failure to submit accurate registration information will result in loss of eligibility. This promotion is administered solely by this website. The manufacturers and retailers of the gift items offered through our programs have not endorsed this promotion and are not affiliated with the promotion in anyway. All trademarks, service marks, logos, and/or domain names (including the names of products and retailers) are property of their respective owners. This promotion is not valid to residents of Ohio and is void where prohibited by law.
Looks like one of those programs where they get you to do things for them by dangling the carrot (the MBA) and then do not deliver based upon a technicality.
Or in other words, a modern say scam.
actually one of my friends got his buddies credit card (like 6 of them?) and then complete the offer and got his MBP...
however he said the shipping back all the try-free items were like $200 to do so and no charges after.. so yea i'm guessing it works although i've never tried it
Neil321
Feb 23, 2008, 07:31 PM
please take ur spam away
excuse me,i wanted to alert people of a possible scam and your telling me not to bother
amanda kathryn
Feb 23, 2008, 07:38 PM
technically, it's not a scam, as long as you read the fine print. i work for a marketing company, and a lot of our products are included in those "offers" you need to complete to get these things. people don't read anything and we got bombarded with nasty calls and emails asking where their ipod or laptop or whatever is, when in fact we have nothing to do with it.
amanda kathryn
Feb 23, 2008, 07:43 PM
Thought as much,just wanted to see what happens when you enter a zip
code,anyone one else been getting them as im being bombarded with them
this:
http://gallery.mac.com/amandanielsen/100032/Picture-203/web.jpg
Eric Lewis
Feb 23, 2008, 07:45 PM
its a SCAM and its SPAM!
http://blog.justinhayesconsulting.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/08/no-spam.jpg
clayj
Feb 23, 2008, 07:54 PM
Someone really should lock this thread.
Two things to remember:
1. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
2. There ain't no such thing as a free lunch. (TANSTAAFL, "tawn-staw-full")
Neil321
Feb 23, 2008, 07:58 PM
Someone really should lock this thread.
Two things to remember:
1. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
2. There ain't no such thing as a free lunch. (TANSTAAFL, "tawn-staw-full")
Yep know that but wanted to post it in case someone does bite
sushi
Feb 23, 2008, 08:43 PM
Two things to remember:
1. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
2. There ain't no such thing as a free lunch. (TANSTAAFL, "tawn-staw-full")
Two very important rules of thumb to live by.
abijnk
Feb 23, 2008, 09:44 PM
Its not a 'scam' per se, it is a pyramid scheme (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pyramid_scheme). Why you felt the need to post it? The world may never know...
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.