PDA

View Full Version : Anyone with some suggestions re: DVD rip?




skrutzen
Feb 25, 2008, 01:39 AM
I was trying to rip Empire Strikes Back and I got a file with which the video played fine but the audio sounded like it was on fast forward. I tried a couple of things; a direct rip with Handbrake as well as a MacTheRipper rip and Handbrake encode.

Any questions as to why this happened or how I can fix this?

My rips of Star Wars: A New Hope, and Return of the Jedi were fine. Also, I noticed that handbrake only showed AC3 4.1 audio on the disc when I know for sure that it has DD EX 5.1 on it. These discs by the way are the more recent dual disc versions of the films. The ones with the original theatrical versions on one disc and the new remastered versions on another. I am ripping the new versions.

While I'm at it, would I use the anamorphic mode or leave the aspect ratio as is?

Thanks in advance!



Todd H
Mar 6, 2008, 06:44 AM
Getting the same here. Anybody gotten this to rip correctly so that the AC3 audio works?

cohibadad
Mar 6, 2008, 06:53 AM
dynaflash posted on another thread that it is a known problem posted on the HB forum. Happened to me too.

Todd H
Mar 6, 2008, 07:16 AM
dynaflash posted on another thread that it is a known problem posted on the HB forum. Happened to me too.

Thanks. Hopefully the Handbrake team can figure this one out.

dynaflash
Mar 6, 2008, 08:14 AM
Thanks. Hopefully the Handbrake team can figure this one out.
Realize that something that is this source specific, is very possibly due to strange mastering on the dvd. Typically (though not always) an actual HB issue will show itself over all or at least many titles. So, until someone with the dvd tries to work around it it may be an issue. Has anyone tried doing mtr full disk extraction and then a movie only from that with dtox ?

Todd H
Mar 6, 2008, 08:24 AM
Realize that something that is this source specific, is very possibly due to strange mastering on the dvd. Typically (though not always) an actual HB issue will show itself over all or at least many titles. So, until someone with the dvd tries to work around it it may be an issue. Has anyone tried doing mtr full disk extraction and then a movie only from that with dtox ?

I'll try it this afternoon if I get a chance.

dynaflash
Mar 6, 2008, 08:25 AM
One other thing. If you start seeing this roll by in the activity window during your encodes:
"[08:19:08] Sync: Audio PTS (38032) < Video PTS (68031) by greater than 100ms, trashing audio to reconverge
[08:19:08] Sync: Audio back in Sync at PTS 61072"
in fast succession, there is a very good chance the audio will be way out of sync.

bacaramac
Mar 6, 2008, 08:26 AM
Or, try AnyDVD for windows and rip to HD to see if that works.

Cave Man
Mar 6, 2008, 09:03 AM
Well, I'll be... I just transcoded ESB two nights ago but didn't test it on my ATV. Sure enough, the audio is screwed. If I open the file in Quicktime (with AAC on, AC3 off) it plays just fine. But if I enable AC3 and disable AAC, it isn't. That's kind of strange that it would work with AAC but not AC3?

roland.g
Mar 6, 2008, 09:15 AM
I have the same problem. It was noted by several people off-topic in the when not to use anamorphic thread. I just reripped it with only the AAC track. One movie without AC3 passthrough is not going to kill me.

Cave Man
Mar 6, 2008, 09:22 AM
I have the same problem. It was noted by several people off-topic in the when not to use anamorphic thread. I just reripped it with only the AAC track. One movie without AC3 passthrough is not going to kill me.

No, NO, NOOOOOO!!!

mallbritton
Mar 6, 2008, 11:10 AM
Just to add one more voice to the crowd...

I took a look at my copy of ESB this morning in Handbrake and sure enough it only saw 4.1 channels of what should have been 5.1. I haven't used MTR to rip the movie to my HDD yet to look at it that way. Odd.

Regards,
Michael

HobeSoundDarryl
Mar 6, 2008, 12:07 PM
Just to add one more voice to the crowd...

I took a look at my copy of ESB this morning in Handbrake and sure enough it only saw 4.1 channels of what should have been 5.1. I haven't used MTR to rip the movie to my HDD yet to look at it that way. Odd.

Regards,
Michael

MTR won't change that view. Something is simply different about that DVD or the way that Handbrake sees it.

skrutzen
Mar 6, 2008, 12:19 PM
Wow, I thought I wasn't going to get a response to this thread at all! Thanks everyone for your responses. I think at this point it's a dvd issue and not a software one. It isn't that big of a deal if ESB isn't in my iTunes collection. It just would've been nice to have all three movies.

KakaduDreamer
Mar 6, 2008, 01:44 PM
On a semi-related note: has anyone here had trouble getting Handbrake to encode Terminator 2: Judgement Day (Extreme DVD edition) successfully? I don't get errors in HB but it *always* freezes somewhere during the encoding process (happens both with a 2-pass option and without)....usually at the 20-25% mark. I have ripped the DVD using two different programs, AnyDVD and DVDFab HD Decrypter, before running it through HB.

Yeah, I have checked the HB forums and there are some old posts regarding T2 but it was more audio related not the issue of not being able to complete an H.264 encode with the :apple:TV preset.

HobeSoundDarryl
Mar 6, 2008, 06:42 PM
Wow, I thought I wasn't going to get a response to this thread at all! Thanks everyone for your responses. I think at this point it's a dvd issue and not a software one. It isn't that big of a deal if ESB isn't in my iTunes collection. It just would've been nice to have all three movies.

You can get it in there by using the AAC option; it just won't be 5.1 AC3 audio. Probably a future version of HB and/or MTR will resolve this one.

Another idea: there are 1+ versions of ESB sold outside of the box set. Anyone have any luck with any of those versions?

Todd H
Mar 6, 2008, 08:11 PM
Problem partially solved. I managed to get it working but there's a couple of scenes at the beginning that repeat a few times but after the probe droid hits Hoth it works fine. Here's how I did it.

I used Mactheripper 3.0 R14 and did a main feature extraction (if you do a full disc extraction you'll get the same audio problems). I then loaded that folder into Handbrake and did my encoding. AC3 now works fine. Just ignore some of the wackiness in the first few minutes.

I'll keep playing around with it and see if I can figure out how to get this completely fixed.

dynaflash
Mar 7, 2008, 08:54 AM
Someone should try running it through dtox, dtox has a habit of correcting some of MTR's *sketchy* remastering that HB does not really care for, especially in main feature mode.

Todd H
Mar 7, 2008, 09:17 AM
Someone should try running it through dtox, dtox has a habit of correcting some of MTR's *sketchy* remastering that HB does not really care for, especially in main feature mode.

I don't have dtox. Is it a commercial product?

Cave Man
Mar 7, 2008, 09:37 AM
Yes, DVD2One X (dtox).

Cave Man
Mar 7, 2008, 10:19 PM
Someone should try running it through dtox, dtox has a habit of correcting some of MTR's *sketchy* remastering that HB does not really care for, especially in main feature mode.

Well, dyna, there you go. One pass through DTOX fixed the problem. I ran it through with a custom target size of 8.8 gb, which took about 20 min on my Mini. I then did a one-pass Apple TV Preset with HB092 for both AAC and AC3 audio and the AC3 5.1 plays just fine. Weird.

dynaflash
Mar 7, 2008, 10:54 PM
Well, dyna, there you go. One pass through DTOX fixed the problem. I ran it through with a custom target size of 8.8 gb, which took about 20 min on my Mini. I then did a one-pass Apple TV Preset with HB092 for both AAC and AC3 audio and the AC3 5.1 plays just fine. Weird.
Not really :) . While mtr main feature rips especially usually play on a set top player ok. The actual remastering that mtr does is ... a bit sketchy. Dtox almost always cleans up the mtr rips and HB does a much better job on them. I am glad it worked in this case. :)

cohibadad
Mar 7, 2008, 11:07 PM
was that a main feature extraction or a full disk that you ran through DTOX? And if the same problem happens with MTR and HB rips then it wouldn't really be an MTR problem would it?

dynaflash
Mar 7, 2008, 11:14 PM
Well, its not really a *problem* as such afaik, its just that I suspect in this case mtr and HB both exhibit the same issue with this title. Dtox was able to clean it up. mtr (the lastest beta) will still likely have a higher success rate than HB alone imho.

cohibadad
Mar 7, 2008, 11:20 PM
Latest MTR is what I'm using and it has the ESB problem. After a quick dtox it shows as 5.1. As far as the audio sync problems on other titles, do you think dtox might clean them up also? Maybe I need to add dtox to my workflow.

EDIT: Sweet. DTOX cleaned up Pixar Animated shorts so they show up in the encodable list on HB. Didn't do anything for The Hire. Haven't tested it on the audio sync problem movies yet.

dynaflash
Mar 7, 2008, 11:24 PM
I use dtox on everything. Period. But then again thats just me. in most cases I skip mtr and just use fairmount and dtox. But whatever works :)