PDA

View Full Version : Buying a Used 12" PowerBook G4: Questions

joshspazjosh
Feb 25, 2008, 03:07 PM
I already have a 20" Intel Core Duo (not Core 2) iMac. I am a college student and would very much like a laptop, so I was thinking about buying a 12" PowerBook G4 on the cheap at eBay. A couple of people at my school have it and it seems like it would be a good and cheap companion to my iMac.

Things I would use this laptop for: Internet, music, iWork '08, the occasional bit of Photoshop work (or maybe just Pixelmator work), capturing DV video with iMovie (but not editing, I would do that on the iMac)

Here are some questions:

1) I know there was a recall of PowerBooks a while back... does this include the 12"? Would I need to send it in very soon after I bought it?

2) Did the 12" come with Panther or Tiger? Will I need to buy a Tiger install disc to upgrade?

3) I'd like to run Final Cut Studio 2 on it... not that I would edit video, but I do like Soundtrack Pro, and sometimes I like to do a quick effect in Motion. Is that even possible on the G4?

4) Is this generally a good decision?

Thanks so much!

Reflow
Feb 25, 2008, 03:27 PM
1. The only recall I know of was the battery

2. It shipped with panther and later with tiger

3. Yes if you get the last generation model

4. Not really as 12" PB still hold their value unless you get an older one (older one most likely won't run FCS well) someone said they saw one sell for 1,800 on eBay the other day.

I personally would get a low end MB.

jinny1
Feb 25, 2008, 03:31 PM
I just found a 12" powerbook on Craigslist for a friend as her first mac. She's loving it. The one I found on Craigslist had a fresh install of Leopard, but I do believe most powerbooks shipped with Tiger.

iMovie 08 will not run on the G4, but iMovie 06 will.

I'd go for it, especially for class and research and general surfing, but don't expect it to work the video transfers quickly.

Photoshop Elements or Pixelmator work fine.

Good Luck