PDA

View Full Version : So, 4GB vs 3GB vs 2GB in the CD MacBooks, [not even possible]...?




Mitthrawnuruodo
Feb 27, 2008, 06:04 AM
Long post, specific question near the end?

I recently decided to keep my (soon) 2 year old 2.0GHz CD MacBook for (at least) another year, sticking to my long lasting 3 year upgrade cycle (which puts my next purchase sometime in 2009).

The first thing I did was throw out my (nearly full) custom 200GB@4200 disk for a new WD 320GB@5400, and the difference is extreme... seriously... it's like I actually got a new machine.

But now I've started getting used to that, I've started looking at the next potential upgrade: RAM. The first thing I did, back when I first got the machine was to rip out the 2 x 256MB it came with and install 2 x 1GB TwinMOS RAM.

Since then RAM prices has plummeted, and I can get a 2GB Mac certified Corsair chip (http://www.komplett.no/k/ki.aspx?sku=344192) for NOK 399,- or, even cheaper, a 2GB TwinMOS chip (http://www.komplett.no/k/ki.aspx?sku=343120) for 349,- (they also have suitable non-certificated Corsair at 375,-, a Crucial chip at 415,- and a Kingston one at 419,-).

So, the question is: Do I get 1 or 2 of those...?

I've read the (http://guides.macrumors.com/Understanding_Intel_Mac_RAM) guides (http://guides.macrumors.com/Matched_RAM_on_Intel_Macs) and understand that more RAM is always better, so 3GB should be better than my current paired 2GB, but also that my MacBook can only access 3.3GB of the 4 if I get 2 sticks. But here's what I don't know: Will I get the speed benefit from having a matched pair with the 2 x 2GB configuration, even if the machine cannot utilise all of that...?

Any techheads out there that can help me? Has anybody tried the different configurations?



menthol moose
Feb 27, 2008, 06:31 AM
You will get the speed benefit of dual channel with 2x2GB of RAM, even if the operating system doesn't have access to it. The computer will use all 4GB, it's just that the EFI and the video card and such use about 700megs, ie, about 3.3GB is available for the operating system and programs.

PMR
Feb 27, 2008, 06:34 AM
Matched pairs will help even if your mac canīt address more than 3.xx GB of ram.

Edit: I noticed your MB is a CD and not a C2D, and I really don't know if that chipset takes advantage of dual channel configuration

GfulDedFan
Feb 27, 2008, 06:45 AM
The Core Duo MacBook unfortunately handles a maximum of 2GB. :(

PMR
Feb 27, 2008, 06:49 AM
The Core Duo MacBook unfortunately handles a maximum of 2GB. :(

That's what Apple says/said, but it's not true.

Mitthrawnuruodo
Feb 27, 2008, 06:50 AM
I noticed your MB is a CD and not a C2D, and I really don't know if that chipset takes advantage of dual channel configurationApple are traditionally not overly technical in the material they give out to the customer, but the User manual strongly suggests that it supports it:
For best performance, fill both memory slots and install an equal memory module in each slot. The maximum amount of memory you can install in your MacBook is 2 GB, using one 1 GB DIMM in each memory slot. (my emphasise)

I'm also a bit concerned about the second part of that quote, but I guess that only applied at the time and that the 2GB sticks are useable... right...?

The Core Duo MacBook unfortunately handles a maximum of 2GB. :(That's what Apple says/said, but it's not true.Anybody actually tried? (As you can see above I know what Apple says, or rather said at the time, but that's not always valid for ever... ;))

GfulDedFan
Feb 27, 2008, 06:52 AM
That's what Apple says/said, but it's not true.

And this is based upon facts found where?

Mitthrawnuruodo
Feb 27, 2008, 07:31 AM
Hmm.... I didn't like this:
The original CoreDuos top out at 2 Gb of RAM - 2 x 1 Gb SODIMMs.(link (http://www.ehmac.ca/anything-mac/59596-macbook-ram-upgrade-2.html?#post618628))

So, my old CD really doesn't support more than 2GB...at all...? :(

Adrian3300
Feb 27, 2008, 07:32 AM
Here is a link to some test that were done by OWC. Granted, they may be a little biased. http://eshop.macsales.com/Reviews/MacBook/Testing/Memory_Benchmarks

If you read the article it says that the "paired ram" is only for macs that have the GMA950 integrated video chipset in common which I believe is the older macbooks and the 17" IMACs

GfulDedFan
Feb 27, 2008, 07:51 AM
Hmm.... I didn't like this:

So, my old CD really doesn't support more than 2GB...at all...? :(

Dats right. But, look at the bright side, you don't need to buy any more RAM. Save that money and a bit more towards your next Mac.

thejadedmonkey
Feb 27, 2008, 07:53 AM
Could you get 2GB chips when the CD came out? I know Apple will only certify a computer to the max ram that is available when it is released, even if the computer can technically handle more ram.. I think.

PMR
Feb 27, 2008, 08:00 AM
And this is based upon facts found where?

Sorry, my mistake:o