PDA

View Full Version : Good Deal?




iJesus
Feb 27, 2008, 07:57 PM
My younger brother wanted a new laptop so I looked on Craigslist and found a 15" MBP for $700 bucks. Good Deal?

Here is the description.

Selling a slightly used 15.4" Macbook Pro. I'm asking for $700 for this laptop. I have used the laptop for presentations and internet, so there is only light use so far.
I don't need such a powerful laptop so I am selling it. specs:
Features: 15.4" Macbook Pro, 2.16 Ghz Core 2 Duo Processor, 2 Gigs Ram, 100 Gig HD, Superdrive DCD+-RW Drive, Airport Extreme, iSight camera
The laptop comes loaded with Adobe Creative Suite CS3, MS Office 2004 and Final Cut Pro Studio. The OS is Leopard 10.5


Thanks for the help guys.



twistedlegato
Feb 27, 2008, 08:11 PM
CS3, AND Final Cut....for $700?

That is insane. If this guy is not a scammer and the laptop is perfect (condition), this is an amazing deal.

Abstract
Feb 27, 2008, 08:12 PM
It sounds too good to be true. It's probably a stolen laptop.

iJesus
Feb 27, 2008, 08:12 PM
"Apple PowerMac G5 Dual 2.5Ghz 8Gb 1Tb Upgrades Soft! NEW - $1000
Specs:
- Dual 2.5Ghz CPU
- 8 GB DDR SDRAM.(8x1Gb) Maxed out!.
- 1 Terabyte Hard Drive Space (2x500gb 7200rpm)
- Nvidia Geforce 5200 with 64mb DDR SDRAM, DVI and ADC ports
- Optical Drive#1: SuperDrive DVD-R/CD-RW DVD Burner Double Layer
-
- Apple Pro Keyboard
- Apple Pro Mouse
- USB 2.0
- FireWire 400
- 56K Modem
- 10/100/1000 MHz Network Ethernet
- Airport Extreme 802.11b/g
- Mac OSX Tiger installed
-
- Detailed specs here
-Apple Original Factory Specshere"

Abstract
Feb 27, 2008, 08:16 PM
How can it still be new? It has a G5 processor, and it's out of the box.

This computer isn't considered new using any definition of the word.

iJesus
Feb 27, 2008, 08:18 PM
How can it still be new? It's a G5.

Could be describing the condition.

Anyways, I e-mailed one of the guys about the MBP.
Asked him if he had any pics.
Hopefully this isn't a scam.

=)

marykay9507
Feb 27, 2008, 08:19 PM
that seems way too good to be true

Luis
Feb 27, 2008, 08:21 PM
I agree on the too good to be true. Either the seller is a scammer (big chance) or an idiot.

sycho
Feb 27, 2008, 08:33 PM
Ask for invoices is my only advice.

Abstract
Feb 27, 2008, 08:44 PM
Yep, an invoice and the MBP's box, install CDs, user's manual.....the works.

Could be describing the condition.


Then it's not "new". :p

*smacks forehead*

iJesus
Feb 27, 2008, 08:46 PM
Well, the seller claims to live in my home town so if everything is legit, I plan on meeting him in person.

Abstract
Feb 27, 2008, 08:50 PM
You mean the MBP seller?

I'm not saying the MBP doesn't exist. It probably does. I just think he stole it and is selling it off to you, and is trying to get rid of it quickly, hence the $700 price.

You may not care that it's a stolen product, but I have to warn you......you are going to Hell, you hear me, iJesus? You are going to hell!!!

iJesus
Feb 27, 2008, 09:31 PM
You mean the MBP seller?

I'm not saying the MBP doesn't exist. It probably does. I just think he stole it and is selling it off to you, and is trying to get rid of it quickly, hence the $700 price.

You may not care that it's a stolen product, but I have to warn you......you are going to Hell, you hear me, iJesus? You are going to hell!!!

"I am not a crook"
http://www.raabcollection.com/_images/inventory/portraits/portrait_nixon_richard.jpg


Hey, it worked for him :p

Just kidding =)

scienide09
Feb 27, 2008, 10:42 PM
Sounds to good to be true to me as well. Be wary, OP, about your purchase.

Request the serial#, and check it with Apple.
Ask for all parts, discs, etc.

Also, if the MBP has only been used for presentations and "light use," why would the seller be using it to run FCP and CS3? Sounds too suspicious.

As for the G5, it looks like the specs are generic (copy/paste from somewhere else), though the pics look real enough. More realistic than the ad for the MBP.

iJesus
Feb 28, 2008, 11:46 AM
Here is the reply I got from the guy

Hello,

The laptop is still available and I hope you are still interested.
My name is _______ and I am now in Manchester, U.K.The laptop is 11 Months old and still has 25 Months of Applecare warranty.
The warranty is good until March 2010. This machine has been used for professional needs over the past year, it is in great condition and runs perfectly, and beyond evidence of normal use there is only a small cosmetic blemish on the side which is shown in one of the pics. The warranty is fully transferable. One more thing, it works on US voltage so you do not need a converter.
I have attached some pics with the laptop to this e-mail so you can see the condition of the laptop.
Please get back to me and let me know if you like the laptop if you're really interested in buying it.

Thanks,
______

and he included some pictures...
... what do you think? Should I continue this further?

himansk
Feb 28, 2008, 12:12 PM
you are in US and the laptop is in UK? Dont buy it, its most probably a scam. Use ebay to buy internationally, not craigslist, use craigslist only for local purchases.

scienide09
Feb 28, 2008, 12:24 PM
you are in US and the laptop is in UK? Dont buy it, its most probably a scam. Use ebay to buy internationally, not craigslist, use craigslist only for local purchases.

Quoted cause I agree.

How does the seller plan to sell locally in the US while located overseas? Let me guess: he (or she) expects you to send a cheque/money order before they ship you the computer, right? Or that the machine will go to a third-party escrow company?
Warning bells galore.
Avoid.

brn2ski00
Feb 28, 2008, 12:28 PM
There are postings all around the net about this type of SCAM. It's a scam bro, definitely. Just search for craigslist scams on google.

Adokimus
Feb 28, 2008, 01:21 PM
SCAM

Seem too good to be true? IT IS. And the whole being overseas thing is the oldest trick in the book. DON'T FALL FOR IT!

P.S. - does this look familiar (see link)?

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=443980

hockeysc23
Feb 28, 2008, 01:27 PM
SCAM

Seem too good to be true? IT IS. And the whole being overseas thing is the oldest trick in the book. DON'T FALL FOR IT!

P.S. - does this look familiar (see link)?

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=443980

Good find. Yes people you get what you pay for. If it is WAY under value then of course its a scam or stolen. Think.

iJesus
Feb 28, 2008, 02:40 PM
Yeah, you guys are definitely right....

... how do you delete a thread?

Adokimus
Feb 28, 2008, 02:45 PM
Yeah, you guys are definitely right....

... how do you delete a thread?

Why delete this thread? It's best if others get to see what a scam looks like. I'm just happy for you that you didn't fall for it.

scienide09
Feb 28, 2008, 03:18 PM
The mods will lock or delete the thread it they feel it necessary. Otherwise it will just fade away, and maybe end up in the archives someday.