PDA

View Full Version : New MB 4,1 (early 2008) - RAM still at 667MHz?




kamm
Feb 28, 2008, 10:29 AM
I couldn't find any review with new MB cracked open - AT has one with MBPs - so most likely memory is still running lower than CPU FSB, right?

Reason I'm asking is that I haven't opened my 2x2GB Crucial yet so I can exchange it for 800MHz sticks if it would make sense (unlikely)...



LeeTom
Feb 28, 2008, 10:37 AM
Apple's Technical Specifications for the new MacBook (early 2008) say:

1GB (two 512MB SO-DIMMs) or 2GB (two 1GB SO-DIMMs) of 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM; two SO-DIMM slots support up to 4GB

kamm
Feb 28, 2008, 10:48 AM
Apple's Technical Specifications for the new MacBook (early 2008) say:

1GB (two 512MB SO-DIMMs) or 2GB (two 1GB SO-DIMMs) of 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM; two SO-DIMM slots support up to 4GB

Yep, that's all I've found too but I think it's about the possible BTO/CTO configurations, not what the mainboard/chipset supports.

diamond.g
Feb 28, 2008, 01:21 PM
Yep, that's all I've found too but I think it's about the possible BTO/CTO configurations, not what the mainboard/chipset supports.

No faster memory till Montevina. Which the faster ram will be ddr3.

xraydoc
Feb 28, 2008, 03:05 PM
The new MacBooks just released still runs on the Santa Rosa chipset, so the front side bus speed remains at 800MHz and the memory bus remains at 667MHz.

kamm
Feb 28, 2008, 04:12 PM
Thanks for the replies. I went ahead and installed the modules - it's pretty darn fast with 4GB memory... :cool: Interesting that it gained +100 points in Geekbench score.

honeycrisp
Feb 29, 2008, 01:19 AM
Thanks for the replies. I went ahead and installed the modules - it's pretty darn fast with 4GB memory... :cool: Interesting that it gained +100 points in Geekbench score.

Does 4GB even ever get used?

Bubba Satori
Feb 29, 2008, 08:22 AM
Does 4GB even ever get used?

Yes.