PDA

View Full Version : New Penryn MBP has worse antenna than Titantium PowerBook??




Phrasikleia
Feb 29, 2008, 10:53 PM
Why would it be that my brand new MBP (2.4 Penryn) gets a far weaker signal than my six-year-old PB G4 Titanium?

I've tried placing each laptop in the same room in the same location on the same desk, and the new MBP will get a very low signal, whereas the TiBook will get a nice strong one.

The new MBP gets a fine signal when it is very close to my router, but from far away it just cannot compete with the range of the TiBook.

Is this normal?



Batt
Feb 29, 2008, 10:56 PM
Why would it be that my brand new MBP (2.4 Penryn) gets a far weaker signal than my six-year-old PB G4 Titanium?

I've tried placing each laptop in the same room in the same location on the same desk, and the new MBP will get a very low signal, whereas the TiBook will get a nice strong one.

The new MBP gets a fine signal when it is very close to my router, but from far away it just cannot compete with the range of the TiBook.

Is this normal?

Does the new one drop the connection or are you just talking about the strength indicator in the menu bar? In Leopard, the indicator tends to show less strength than it did in Tiger, but actual performance remains the same.

FJ218700
Feb 29, 2008, 11:03 PM
my 500 MHz TiBook gets better reception than my aluminum 1.67 PowerBook. I wouldn't be surprised if your penryn was the same

hojoon0724
Feb 29, 2008, 11:09 PM
i dunno, mine is getting way better reception than my 3 year old alu pb g4

KrAyZiE
Feb 29, 2008, 11:09 PM
Ti > Al

simple peereeodic tablez stuff y'noobz. :rolleyes:

porterboy
Feb 29, 2008, 11:34 PM
Hi Guys,
this is my first post. i bought a mbp penryn (2.4gh) last thursday night.
today, friday, i started to configure things and then i realized that the laptop doesnt close well. the left side of the screen is more lifted than the right side?
i mean i just opened it today...its about 2-3 mm ajarred compared to the right side.

will i get an exchange without having to pay restocking fee?

gothamm
Feb 29, 2008, 11:40 PM
Hi Guys,
this is my first post. i bought a mbp penryn (2.4gh) last thursday night.
today, friday, i started to configure things and then i realized that the laptop doesnt close well. the left side of the screen is more lifted than the right side?
i mean i just opened it today...its about 2-3 mm ajarred compared to the right side.

will i get an exchange without having to pay restocking fee?

yes, take it to the apple store

zgnoud
Mar 1, 2008, 04:56 AM
dont know man, my penryn gets maxium signal and is able at its maximum download speed - but then again my router is pretty decent too (108mbps NETGEAR)

higham
Mar 1, 2008, 10:11 AM
dont know man, my penryn gets maxium signal and is able at its maximum download speed - but then again my router is pretty decent too (108mbps NETGEAR)


yep mine is the same, i got a netgear router to but i'm not sure what the speed is of it think its only a 54mbps.

Phrasikleia
Mar 1, 2008, 11:07 PM
Does the new one drop the connection or are you just talking about the strength indicator in the menu bar? In Leopard, the indicator tends to show less strength than it did in Tiger, but actual performance remains the same.

The new one sometimes shows less strength, but the really odd thing is that it usually shows all five AirPort bars and yet gets really low throughput. So it's getting a good connection to the router, at least most of the time (every 5 hours or so, its connection to the router drops down to a single bar).

Batt
Mar 2, 2008, 12:26 AM
The new one sometimes shows less strength, but the really odd thing is that it usually shows all five AirPort bars and yet gets really low throughput. So it's getting a good connection to the router, at least most of the time (every 5 hours or so, its connection to the router drops down to a single bar).

I'd try changing the channel. I had an intermittent slow-down issue a while back, with Airport Express, and fiddled with a couple of diferent channel settings. Since changing to channel 11, no problems.

e12a
Mar 2, 2008, 04:08 AM
doesnt the TiBook have more plastic areas than a MBP? Then of course it would have better reception.

Phrasikleia
Mar 2, 2008, 11:40 PM
Further testing has revealed that the MBP has a vastly superior antenna, contrary to my first impressions. There were some intermittent issues with the router and all the other networks around this house. Changing the channel made a huge difference, but only on the third channel change (which is why I ruled out a channel problem at first).

Now it's clear that the old TiBook gets nowhere near the reception that the Penryn MBP gets. I pick up 10 different WiFi networks when I scan with the new machine, and the old TiBook is only able to detect two of those.

I must say this new MBP is simply amazing. I'm so thrilled with it!

skiesforme
Mar 4, 2008, 02:32 PM
Further testing has revealed that the MBP has a vastly superior antenna, contrary to my first impressions. There were some intermittent issues with the router and all the other networks around this house. Changing the channel made a huge difference, but only on the third channel change (which is why I ruled out a channel problem at first).

Now it's clear that the old TiBook gets nowhere near the reception that the Penryn MBP gets. I pick up 10 different WiFi networks when I scan with the new machine, and the old TiBook is only able to detect two of those.

I must say this new MBP is simply amazing. I'm so thrilled with it!

Nice to know that it worked out for you. I just sent you a reply to your query. Yes, the Penryn MBP has better reception than even my MB now :D

Mott
Mar 4, 2008, 03:34 PM
This is good news. I feel much better about setting up my new MBP tonight. I'll try the steps mentioned above and measure the results using a Wifi sniffer that gives out an actual number value for signal strength. I've used KisMAC on my ibook. Is there another one you guys would recommend?

skiesforme
Mar 5, 2008, 11:49 AM
This is good news. I feel much better about setting up my new MBP tonight. I'll try the steps mentioned above and measure the results using a Wifi sniffer that gives out an actual number value for signal strength. I've used KisMAC on my ibook. Is there another one you guys would recommend?

iStumbler works for me.

rsm5068
Mar 5, 2008, 01:05 PM
I don't have any of these problems with my new MBP. Just got it yesterday and it was a perfect setup (aside from forgetting the password for my network) and operation.

Mott
Mar 5, 2008, 09:17 PM
iStumbler works for me.

Thanks Ski.

The problem isn't the reception it's the Noise level. I'm running Istumbler on my MBP and G4 Ibook. The MBP has a noise level of about 17-18% on all networks found, but my Ibook has a reading of ZERO for noise. MBP does however get about double the signal strength over the IB. It does seem though that the reception comes and goes, one minute it's full bars then it's two or one.:confused:

I'll have to keep an eye on it and recheck my Linksys 350n settings.

Fyi I have the 350n set for G; only as a test though.

skiesforme
Mar 7, 2008, 07:04 PM
Thanks Ski.

The problem isn't the reception it's the Noise level. I'm running Istumbler on my MBP and G4 Ibook. The MBP has a noise level of about 17-18% on all networks found, but my Ibook has a reading of ZERO for noise. MBP does however get about double the signal strength over the IB. It does seem though that the reception comes and goes, one minute it's full bars then it's two or one.:confused:

I'll have to keep an eye on it and recheck my Linksys 350n settings.

Fyi I have the 350n set for G; only as a test though.

It seems to be the same for me. Noise is always there whatever channel you chose, even if you are on a channel no one else is using in your vicinity. Noise may also be due to other laptops "Active scanning" all DSSS channel frequencies, and of course from all sorts of electromagnetic devices around us. So I think iStumbler shows us the right noise level. Ibook showing zero noise level is something I don't understand. It might be the case that the iBook Airport card is not set to listen to other Wi-Fi channels (is passive) while associated with a given router. Not 100% sure though... surely is interesting.
Yesterday, I noticed something interesting as well. My iPhone always shows ful wi-fi signal. It was near my MBP and while the MBP showed full signal, the iPhone had just 1 bar ! :confused:. So I took it in my had and moved about a bit in the living room (router is in the same room) but it stayed at 1 bar. I had to turn wi-fi on and it was fine again. :) Who knows what's with the radio propagation model !!?