PDA

View Full Version : Quicksilver Power Supply on a Gigabit Motherboard




TESEV
Mar 7, 2008, 06:02 PM
Recently I didn't do my research, and I purchased a Quicksilver power supply to put on a Gigabit machine. I noticed it had four extra pins which look like some of the ones they use to power processors in some PCs (tho I've come to find this is for the ADC port). I dug a little deeper (Googled "powermac_g4.pdf") and found out that some of the pins have differences between the Gigabit PS and the Quicksilver PS.

Has anyone else had an experience like this? Will the PS work without any wirecutting or do I need to get a new one?



Firefly2002
Mar 7, 2008, 06:46 PM
It should work just fine, assuming it stil uses the standard molex connectors, which I couldn't imagine it does not.

If it doesn't, the worst that could happen is things won't fit. It's a more powerful PSU (360W vs. 220W), but it's not like installing a more powerful PSU will overload the circuits or anything. Just means you can load more into the system.

TESEV
Mar 7, 2008, 08:35 PM
Gigabit/Digital Audio Power Supply Pins:
http://tesev.net/tmp/PS_DA.gif

Quicksilver Power Supply Pins:
http://tesev.net/tmp/PS_QS.gif

The four pins can obviously be ignored, but pins 9 and 22 are what I'm concerned about.
I could probably just push out #9 and wrap it in electrical tape but what about pin 22?