PDA

View Full Version : Looking at a used mac mini

Chad H
Mar 10, 2008, 10:33 AM
Hey guys,
I am looking at buying a used Mac Mini or Mac Mini G4. I am looking for something to run leopard and Aperture. I have a MBA that I carry everywhere but I want a somewhat stationary desktop to do hardcore photo editing on. The HDD doesn't have to be huge since I have a 500gig Time Capsule which I store my photo's and complete i-Tunes library on. I am just looking for some suggestions or hints as to what to look for. I have been looking on ebay but these things seem to range between 1.2ghz and 2.0ghz. Also, I didn't know what was upgradeable. I don't mind cracking one open and upgrading the HDD or RAM. I appreciate any advice you guys can give. As I am still new to the Apple framework.

-Chad

flopticalcube
Mar 10, 2008, 10:48 AM
What's your budget? Intel minis have RAM, disk and CPU that can be upgraded. On Core Solo and Core Duo minis you can put in up to 2GB (2X1GB) RAM. On Core 2 Duo minis you can put in up to 4GB (2X2GB) RAM but only 3GB is usable. Core Solo and Core Duos can be upgraded to Core 2 Duos but the RAM configs are limited to the original spec. Some people have also had success upgrading the WiFi to 802.11n using laptop WiFi cards. The Intel minis, especially CDs and C2Ds will give you more bang for your buck than the G4s. If it fits your budget, check out Apple's Refurb store as well.

gkarris
Mar 10, 2008, 10:53 AM
Hey guys,