PDA

View Full Version : i need a batch processing program for windows (!)




sk3pt1c
Mar 16, 2008, 02:19 PM
right, i haven't used windows in ages, but i have a client who said he's found someone to process the photos he takes for his website, to take the workload off my back and let me deal with the site itself.
the thing is this someone is some kid and she has no idea how to batch process a few hundreds of photos to downsize and optimize them for the website.
i'd do it with Fireworks, but i don't think she'll be able to get to grips with it without me having to travel over there to show her.
so i'm looking for a (free) alternative that can do simple batch process tasks, like a 20% drop in size and 80% in quality, so she can then send me the photos to upload onto the site.
i know this is an odd request, this being a mac forum, but this is the only place i can ask, i don't wanna register in a windows forum :D



IgnatiusTheKing
Mar 16, 2008, 02:30 PM
right, i haven't used windows in ages, but i have a client who said he's found someone to process the photos he takes for his website, to take the workload off my back and let me deal with the site itself.
the thing is this someone is some kid and she has no idea how to batch process a few hundreds of photos to downsize and optimize them for the website.
i'd do it with Fireworks, but i don't think she'll be able to get to grips with it without me having to travel over there to show her.
so i'm looking for a (free) alternative that can do simple batch process tasks, like a 20% drop in size and 80% in quality, so she can then send me the photos to upload onto the site.
i know this is an odd request, this being a mac forum, but this is the only place i can ask, i don't wanna register in a windows forum :D

What about GIMP? I haven't used it but have heard good things. You can also try posting it on the Windows on Mac forum, as well. Good luck.

LeviG
Mar 16, 2008, 02:33 PM
now you got the obvious adobe software, but as you say thats a tad complicated - maybe she should start learning :D

Ok couple of options from the top of my head.

XP only, theres a powertoy which can do batch conversions although it doesn't do the quality, its just a resize thing.

Vista and XP
Windows Live Photo Gallery - again just does resize but it can't get much more simple (highlight, right click and select resize, set size, wait)

Google Picasa - pretty certain this would do it, but not had much use for it.

sk3pt1c
Mar 17, 2008, 01:14 AM
gimp doesn't do batch processing i'm afraid.

i know she "should" learn to use fireworks, but she seemed
too thick for that :)

i'm gonna take a look at picasa, i guess it's simple enough :)

jerryrock
Mar 17, 2008, 10:40 AM
You would get better responses in a Windows Forum. Your question is like going to the fish market for advise on filet mignon.
:D

ChrisA
Mar 17, 2008, 03:42 PM
gimp doesn't do batch processing i'm afraid.

Gimp has a built in script language. But it hardly matters if the person using Gimp does not know how to write scripts.

It would take all of 40 seconds to crop and resample 100 impages in Aperure. All yu do is do one by hand then "lift" the adjustments, select the 99 others images then "stamp" those adjustments onto the selected files. Because of the non-destructive way Aperture works it really would take only about 40 seconds.

If you don't like the "lift and stamp" method then Aperture has what it calls "export presets" where you specify all the adjustmants that need to be done, like resample, and so on. Then you selects the 100 images and export them to a folder and select the desired preset. This works well for people who need to "web size" an entire project

I thought Adobe Bridge could do this kind of thing as well, copy some adjustments then "paste" them into 100 selected files.

sk3pt1c
Mar 17, 2008, 04:57 PM
it's for windows, so aperture is out of the question.

i will probably get the adobe suite off a friend and show her how
to do batch processing on Fireworks, i can't think of a simpler way...
:(