Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macsrules

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 26, 2008
Okay, here we go. I need a simple utility written, I am guessing that if I was a Mac Programmer, I could write this in about two hours. Everything is already built, I just need someone to tie the different pieces together. Here are the steps and what I would like.

1. First, I like putting notes on folders so that I know what is in them with a quick description before opening them. The solution. When you have a ton of files this could be a very nice time saver when you are looking for something specific.

The solution was given to me by another MacRumors member. https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/454509/

* Use the Inspector Spotlight Comments field to leave notes for each folder. This works great, I hold down the option key and right click on the folder and scroll down to show inspector. This makes it so that every folder that I click on it dynamically changes in the inspector window and I am able to add notes to each folder I click on. This technique also makes it so that I can view the notes of the folder by clicking on them. If they are in a group of folders, I can use the arrow keys. I would like someone to take this feature to the next level. So here is what I am thinking.

2. The utility needs to install into the menu bar and launches at startup.

3. Would like for it to have an off and on button with a keyboard shortcut.

4. The ability to change the size of the viewing font.

5. Here is the main thing that it will do with the 3 features. When it is turned on and you run your mouse over folders, the Spotlight Comments pop up in a small window right above the folder the mouse is over so that you can see what is in them according to your notes.