PDA

View Full Version : Cinema 4D 10 and OpenType fonts




sharifi14
Mar 19, 2008, 11:55 AM
When using Cinema 4D 10, does anyone else have the problem that when you apply an OTF to some text that it just disappears?

I've been reading around other forums (http://forums.cgsociety.org/archive/index.php/t-443146.html) and this seems to only occur on Mac. Is there anyone who uses C4D and OTFs? If so, is there a patch or update or something? The only suggestions I've read involve processes using InDesign that I don't know how to do.

Thanks for your help



faustfire
Mar 19, 2008, 06:20 PM
I have the same problem and havent found a fix for it. I usually just create my text in Illustrator and then import into C4d if the font I need isnt working.

sharifi14
Mar 20, 2008, 07:16 AM
Thanks for the feedback. It's weird how all my other third party apps see my OTFs no problem, but C4D can't see them at all.

I usually just create my text in Illustrator and then import into C4d if the font I need isnt working.

Everybody is talking about creating text in Illustrator but I'm not sure how to do this. If you know of good any online tutorials or walkthroughs of doing this, please post them here! I will greatly appreciate it.

Thanks again.

Alex

funkybrenner
Mar 20, 2008, 12:25 PM
once you are satisfied with your text in Illustrator, convert it to outlines (right click, create outlines). the bottom left corner of your illustrator file will become the registration point in cinema, so you'll probably want to drag the text to that corner. save it as an Illustrator 8 document (c4d won't understand otherwise). in cinema, file > merge and find your .ai file.

sharifi14
Mar 21, 2008, 08:14 AM
Ahhh, I see now. Thanks so much for that, you made it a lot more accessible than any other forums I've visited! I think I'll be bookmarking this page in case I ever forget!

One more thing: when I merge the AI file it isn't merged as a single path, but multiple paths. So when I try to apply an Extrude NURBS it only applies it to one path. Is there a way of grouping all of these paths to become one entity?

I'll have a play around in the meantime. Thanks again,

Alex

hessdesigns
Mar 21, 2008, 03:45 PM
With multiple paths, you can have the extrude nurbs on the top level. Just click on it to bring up the attributes in the bottom right of your screen, and check the "Hierarchical" check box. That should make all of 'em work. Why this isn't the default, I have no idea.

sharifi14
Mar 21, 2008, 05:39 PM
Thanks mate, that makes more sense. I'll give it a try soon, hopefully that should work! Thanks to you both for your help.

samwich
Mar 21, 2008, 10:02 PM
You can also select all the individual paths, and right click -> connect. This will create a new spline made up of all the others. Then apply the extrude nurbs on the newly created spline, and you can delete the others.

-Sam