PDA

View Full Version : Haphazard Boot




supercooled
Mar 26, 2008, 06:31 AM
Hi, I don't know if this is inherent with all Mac Pros but mine is peculiar in that it needs the monitor turned on otherwise it boots but does not show an image. If I don't have the monitor on before hand, I can't see anyting. Haven't tried it with a smaller monitor but it could be the Dell as well.

Is this common?



ThirteenXIII
Mar 26, 2008, 10:51 AM
wellllll unless i dont understand your post, but whyw ould you be concerned if your monitor is OFF and ther eis no image? that sort of makes sense there wouldnt be an image.


the only way a monitor that wouldbe off that would auto turn on is the ACDs from my experience.


otherwise no idea what your talking about ??? :confused::confused:

DannySmurf
Mar 26, 2008, 11:13 AM
I think he means that he needs to turn the monitor on before he starts the computer (as opposed to turning it on after the boot process has already started), rather than that he wants to see something with his monitor off.

Dunno if this is actually common or not (although this seems more like a laptop behaviour than something a desktop would do), but the solution seems fairly simple: just make sure you turn the monitor on before you boot the computer. :)

supercooled
Mar 26, 2008, 01:29 PM
I think he means that he needs to turn the monitor on before he starts the computer (as opposed to turning it on after the boot process has already started), rather than that he wants to see something with his monitor off.

Dunno if this is actually common or not (although this seems more like a laptop behaviour than something a desktop would do), but the solution seems fairly simple: just make sure you turn the monitor on before you boot the computer. :)

That's exactly right. I have my computer to wake at 7AM every day so the CHIME works as an alarm as well. Of course by the time I drag myself out of bed to turn on the monitor, there is no image. I rather not have it in sleep mode consuming energy needlessly. I'll try with another monitor to see.

krye
Mar 27, 2008, 04:46 PM
I tried mine. I powered it on with the monitor off. Once I thought it was up, I turned on the 30" cinema display and all was fine. So I don't have to have the monitor on before I turn on the Mac Pro.